Doubtful Sounds - Marlborough


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After my birthday I took the ferry over to the south Island where I landed in Picton. Just a small town but the gateway to the Queen Charlotte track. A 71km, 3 day hike through the Marlborough 'Doubtful Sounds'. To get to the start of the walk I had to catch a boat out to a place called Ship Cove. Throughout the first day it poored down, although it did add a great erry look about the sounds. The majority of the trek went through lush rain forest where you could look out to the crisp blue ocean. As the day wore on the weather cleared up uwhich ultimately cleared the low mist, and unlocking the beautiful views of the Islands nearby. It was a long day though as I had combined 2 days of walking into just one. I arrived at my camp site at around 5 oclock after setting off at 9am.
I woke early the next morning as this was said to be the hardest day of the walk. So I left at 8am with the weather the best Id seen it. It was a beautiful crisp clear day and couldn't get any better. After a few hours I came to the top of one of the hills and was mesmorized by the view! I seriously couldn't take my eyes off it. I looked out from one of the sounds and there was the sea with all its different shades of blue looking golden in the suns light and on either side you could see the sounds leading out away to sea in the distance. It was better than any picture could look!
As the day wore on the views couldn't disappoint they just got better and better and better!!!
I finally got into my camp site at around 6pm so a long day! But even from my camp site the views were spectacular!
On the 3rd Day I set off at 7 30am as I wasn't sure how my feet would hold up as they were blistered and bandaged. The views were again fantastic although not quite as good as yesterday (but that would take something quite special!) and i finished the 71km walk at 3pm thankfully there was a pub right at the end of the walk (seemingly as the walk lies so closely with the town- picton) so I sat down and had a cold beer. One of the best beers Ive ever tasted! and such a view to sit down to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

wow!wow!
wow!

This was the view I could't take my eyes off!
3nd day3nd day
3nd day

Early morning at around 7 30am
3nd day3nd day
3nd day

Midday
3nd day3nd day
3nd day

And a nice beer after the walk ahhh!


13th March 2007

spelling
and again! eerie becomes erry!?
12th April 2007

oi! Si lol
yeah I know. im goin striaght back to school wen i get home. lol Hope ya doin okay matey

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb