Picton to Franz Joseph


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Picton
April 27th 2005
Published: April 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dusky DolphinsDusky DolphinsDusky Dolphins

This group of Dolphins was great. There were about 300 the day I swam with them. Very friendly, but wild and well protected by the New Zealand government.
About a week and a half ago I left the North Island from Wellington city and arrived in Picton. This ferry trip was filled with beauty all around. Upon arrival there were no longer any buses and I wanted to go to the town of Kaikoura right away, so I stuck out my thumb and was picked up in less than 30 seconds. It took three rides to make it to the town but what a great experience to be able to still hitch hike in this day and age. (By the way I have been hitching the whole time since then and have met marvellous people who have even opened up their homes to me.)

In Kaikoura it was a dream come true for me, I swam with the Dusky Dolphin which is known to be the most acrobatic out of all the dolphin family. These 300 or so water friends of mine played chase, jumped over me, and skimmed up against me. What a wonderful experience. See the pictures on my travel blog site of some of these guys.

Since the dolphin experience I have been soaking in natural springs, climbing on huge flattened sea rocks, going
Dusky surfing with the BoatDusky surfing with the BoatDusky surfing with the Boat

I had a great view of them on the boat after swimming with them for over an hour.
on treks in numerous regions and trying to make off with the Gold of a small town. The communities in the South are very friendly and I never have to wait more than 20 minutes to get a ride, even in the small towns in rural areas. The Franz Joseph glacier is quite a sight, and it was quite cold too. This glacier has been moving forward in recent years after receding for a while.

Graham


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Seal by the BaySeal by the Bay
Seal by the Bay

I took a walk in the afternoon after having such a great time with the dolphins and came upon this seal just on a secluded beach.
Gold Thief in RossGold Thief in Ross
Gold Thief in Ross

I was captured by the locals for trying to make off with the local goods on the west coast.
Franz Joseph GlacierFranz Joseph Glacier
Franz Joseph Glacier

This Glacier is located in the central part of the west coast on the south island. It was first explored in 1865 by Austrain Julius Haast. The glacier has been advancing forward in recent years. What a beautiful sight.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb