Away from Adrenaline


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Picton
March 1st 2005
Published: March 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dearest woo-foos!

Back to Queenstown, though my body has left the seductive deathwish capital where I lept to my demise via Canyon Swing, my heart still beats with its life force. Thus, I'll write in the present tense:
This town crackles with energy. It's the 7th most popular vacation destination in the WORLD and it's not hard to see why.
It's nestled at the base of the Remarkables mountains, home of Mordor for you Lord of the Rings freakies, and one of the only two mountain chains in the world that run true north and south.(The Andes sharing the honor). They look quite sinister with their jagged peaks looking like giant gray teeth chewing the sky to bits. Lake Wakatipu serves as the waterway that the town wraps itself around.
Come nightful, everyone here is drunk. And I mean drunk! I even saw two very Korean men in their 60s all red faced and singing in their native language with their arms around each other, stumbling down an alleyway.
As for sleep, fuhgedabowdit, because between the Hungarian guy on the bunk on top of me snoring like a chain saw and the wretchedly bad karaoke going on down below, rest is a silly fantasy.
I suspect that Hungary boy will undergo serious adrenaline withdrawals. He spent one day like this, I kid you not: 8am, Kawara Bridge Bungee jump. 12pm, jet boating/helicopter combo adventure. 2pm, skydiving. 6pm, hit the Red Dog pub. 1am, stumble home with his soul dangling someplace in the mountain air to snore his way out of my favor. I should have ended his ecstasy/misery. He was SO LOUD and I was on the verge of having a kicking fit under his mattress.
***So yeah, I left the deathwish capital of bungee jumping, meat bombing, whitewater rafting, jet boating, head bashing, nail biting, etc. a few days ago, but will write about the new places later***
Since then, I've been spending some time some great people: Inga, a German girl with a jaw sharp enough to open cans with and a voice JUST like Kermit the Frog's. (I'm not kidding.) Also, an Irish boy named Cieran whose disarming charm and soft boyish appearance camoflouge his predatory romantic desire for everything in a skirt that crosses his path. We make a good team. Put them together with Glenn, an English guy from Manchester who eats crumpets (English muffins) for breakfast, lunch and dinner and says "butter" like "boe-ah" and you have a neat bunch all in all.
But damn, does this place eat the cash up! So I think I may be getting a bit of work in a hostel baking bread, feeding sheep, picking grapes and cleaning rooms for a couple of weeks in the sunny north.
Now it's time to eat a Pastie. What's a Pastie? Yummy mystery. To be continued....More pictures to come too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. My left big toe is very bruised! :-(

Diana the Dirtpan


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb