the snout


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Picton
December 8th 2005
Published: December 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

picton soundspicton soundspicton sounds

view from the track
i have settled into picton and it is settling into me. i had a moment the other day while riding my bike to work. an 'ahh' moment, relaxed and comfortable. i turned a corner onto an empty road toward the ocean, let go of the handle bars and road like a kid down the street. my arms were out and my fingers outstretched. i let the wind blow around me as i picked up speed down the hill. it felt so good.

the photos are of my first day off. by the way, the chambermaiding and driving are turning out to be great fun. my first day off i spent on the track. i chose 'the snout' because it had the best name of all of them. i spent four peaceful hours walking. some of it i spent singing and dancing, walking to the beat of the music in my ipod. the trail was sheltered for the most part until i reached 'the snout.' every once in a while though i'd get a glimpse of the picton sounds. the sounds are difficult to describe. when i look out at them i see a maze of hazy hills and ocean extending
the snoutthe snoutthe snout

walking off the edge....into the watery blue deep.
much farther than i am able to see. i spent time sitting and writing in the grass in the open air again letting the wind whirl around me.

take care everyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

picton sounds 2picton sounds 2
picton sounds 2

again from the track....a nice over the shoulder shot.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb