The South Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Blenheim
April 6th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I'm in Blenhiem now, which is basically where I started my trip of the south island. Over the last month I have driven around the entire south island, I have been to the most northern point (Cape farewell) and the most southern point (slope point/Curio bay). I have been to both the glaciers ( Frans Joseph and Fox) and to Milford sound, which was beautiful. It was interesting traveling with two girls how's first language is French ( it would have helped if I had tried a little hard in high school French) and sharing the van's small space for a month. We laughed, we cried and nearly killed each other, but it was fun. I'm sorry that I have not been keeping up with entries, but I've been busy traveling and usually don't have the energy to write. I bought a surfboard in Christchurch last week and got a chance to try it out in Kaikoura on Monday. The spot that I went to was just off of the highway and very rocky. It was really difficult to get into the water. It was a beautiful day but the water was really cold and I was the only one who didn't have a wetsuit. I had decided not to buy a wetsuit because I'm Canadian and the water is much colder at home. This is true, but at home I wouldn't try to sit in the water for a couple of hours. Once I got into the water and tried to catch a wave I realized that I hadn't put enough wax on the board and was too stubborn/embarrassed to get out of the water and put more on. Instead I sat in the water tried hopelessly to surf and froze me nuts. One hour later when I was so cold I could hardly move my arms a decided to get out of the water. It was so hard to get out of the water, I was so cold and the rocks were very slippery plus the waves were crashing onto the rocks making it even harder. I had to crawl out of the water looking really awkward. Also as I looked up at the beach I saw a friend of mine I had not seen in a month reaching out to give me a hand. James give me a hand and I was out of the water. James was riding his bike and recognized my van and stopped to say hi. I was a little embarrassed, but happy to have the hand out of the water. I think I'm going to buy a wetsuit so my next surfing day is more enjoyable.
I'm going to leave the south Island in the next week. Then I'm going to go back to Auckland and sell the van. I'm going to try to be in Australia for May.

Advertisement



20th April 2006

A Lack of Lubricant...
Ian: I am sensing a trend, a surf board without enough wax, a van without enough oil, I bought a 4Runner that needed a lot of oil from someone who looks a lot like you.....Ha! Sounds like you are having the time of your life! Have a cold beer for the crew from Monkman, we are watching over you, if you end up in jail give me a call, I may personally deliver the bail money... On a serious note, I need to talk to you about a big event happening in May-June 2007. Can you give me a shout when you come up for air?
21st April 2006

I finally found your blog site and have caught up with your travels. I love all the adventures, keep up with the having of fun and life's sweet lessons!

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb