Day 6 Lake Tekapo:


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
May 14th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I decided to stay another night here. I am here on vacation and I feel like the whole time I've been rushing around. It's only day 6 and I have almost hit all the places I wanted to. After Lake Tekapo I am going to head to Mt. Cook Village and spent a night or two there, then down to Queenstown and Te Anu. There is supposed to be some really good horse back riding trails at a place called Dart Stables near Queenstown that I am excited for. If I finish Queenstown and Te Anu early I may go to a few other places. Currently I am catching up on my journal while watching the sun rise over the mountains and lake. The view from this hostel is spectacular. My butt is so sore today from all my walking it will be nice to rest it.

Staying in Tekapo another night was probably not the best idea. I did a shot hike through the woods. I also kayaked on lake tekapo which was really nice. The water was cold but it had such a nice aqua color. I was told the water is that aqua color because it is glacier water. I went along the shoreline stopping occasionally because my shoulders were hurting. After kayaking I had lunch at the local chinese place. I had sweet and sour pork.

I was invited to a party at Rachel's, a girl who works here, house. It ended up being just 2 people from the hostel and her and her roomate. She made us a bacon and egg casserole, which was pretty good. We just sat around and talked nothing too exciting really. The Irish guy, Ian, bought a 12 pack of beer and drank them all in the time I drank 6. The beer here isn't the best. It tastes good but the alcohol content is only 4%. It has the heaviness of a Sam Adam's and the alcohol content of an American light beer. The price of the beer is based on alcohol volume so the beer companies make low alcohol beer to keep the price down.

I did not go to the observatory on Mt. John like I was planning because I was told it was not worth the 80 dollars, apparently you don't get to use the big telescopes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb