It's All Fun & Games Till A Sea Lion Charges...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Juvenile NZ Sea LionJuvenile NZ Sea LionJuvenile NZ Sea Lion

This is the little creature that charged me looking all serene and butter wouldn't melt...
Left Stewart Island, headed to Catlins area, lots of green pastures and rolling hills, livestock and the odd few shops, cafes, pubs and petrol stations. Found my BnB, a farmstay in a quiet beautiful valley. Joy & Graham were wonderful hosts, had 2 nights with them and didn't stop cuddling their boisterous and exciteable Balck Labrador named Rosie...she was very nice! Not only does the scenery change but the soundtrack too. On the Island it was loud native birdsong, at the farm is was sheep, cows and the sound of non native birds (ours! Blackbids, Thrush and the like).

Went at dusk to Curio Bay, an area that is a Jurrassic Period sight of fossils and Petrified fossilised trees, was awesome! Saw some yellow eyed penguins come into shore and got few pics of the tree fossils left in the rock. The trouble with seeing these fossils and reading that they are millions of years old is getting my head around concept of that length of time! Went to Porpoise Bay (on Pourpose.....groan what a rubbish joke!) didn't see any Porpoise 😞 Over next couple of days explored local Catlins sights, worst civilian shipwreck sight, Cannibal Bay were they found
Majestic AlbatrossMajestic AlbatrossMajestic Albatross

A pair bonding after one returns from getting food and takes over egg duty, I can't describe how beautiful they are! The head and beak look like carved from marble!
human remains that, you guessed it, had been eaten and other local attractions.

On last day went for most liberating walk, it was torrential...absolute sheet rain and I had to go out, went to this dense forest with a track in that was not man made, but maintained by a few people walking it. It was muddy, slippery and the most fun thing to do. It was 2 hours to waterfall and hour return, I don't have 100% waterproofs, so got soaked through by about 45 mins in, climbing around tree trunks, wading through 2 streams, sliding down mud banks and gigling/swearing at same time. Saw noone the whole route, it was awesome fun!! =) Had an extremely long bath and then had evening meal with hosts, another place to recommend to everyone coming this way - Valley Farmstay near Curio Bay & Niagara! Oh, also stopped at most Southernly Mainland point in NZ =)

Left for Dunedin via Mclean Falls early morning walk and photo session, the earlier I start the more stunning the views if sun out and less people. Dunedin is a HUGE proper city, has the oldest University in NZ and I went the
Albatross In FlightAlbatross In FlightAlbatross In Flight

The photo doesn't do justice to the size of these birds, immense!
wrong way down a one way major road in a city!!!! OMG!! Luckily there was a driveway I pulled into before I got head on squished.......I think I will prob be on one of those worst drivers programmes soon! After that I parked up, had quick walk around, looked at buildings and realised I'm here for the landscpes, wildlife and outdoor fun, not the cities. Left City (after getting little lost, but I now know the ring road really well! =p

From the city it is surprising how quick you get to sea (5 mins), then another 5 mins to Otago Peninsula, with Spectacular views, abundance of wildlife and that was where I was staying. My hosts were wildlife cinematographers that have worked on BBc, discovery and independant films, know Sir David Attenborough very well and worked with him alot....so I was completely dumbstruck!! After an evening meal with them and listening to the most extraordinary stories that I have ever heard I obviously want to be a Wildlife photographer....until he told me about the insects that bite, get under your skin and give you horrendous diseases and you can't move!! Sod that!! LOL He offered to take me
Big Daddy & JuvenileBig Daddy & JuvenileBig Daddy & Juvenile

Interaction was brilliant, I sat and watched them (also got terrorised by smaller one, which was still mid thigh height!) The adult male was HUGE!
out for a day photography tuition and guide to area, how quickly did I jump up and down saying 'yes please Mr Brown!' ha ha

Left early, went to bird sights and then onto a tucked away beach where my life changed (again). There were 2 NZ sea lions, one was a fully grown male and the other a juvenile (about 4 years old). I was with an experienced guide and a good distance away, he was teaching me about approaching wildlife, tricks etc. The juvenile was pestering the huge adult to play and he ignored him. He spotted us from a distance and thought...hmmmm wonder if they want to play. He said just stand still, if you run its a game.....my adrenalin rush was better than the rock climbing, my heart was pounding as a snorting, mouth open showing me his teeth sea lion came charging towards me, stopped at my thigh, nudged my leg, sniffed all around my leg, nudged the back of my knee, kept opening his mouth and then did same to Robert. How I didn't run when I saw those teeth and rotten mouth I don't know. I certainly don't see those big dowey
ExpressionsExpressionsExpressions

Now you can see why I was captivated and full of emotion watching these guys interact!
eyes and think of innocence and wanting to cuddle them now! After a while he went back to adult, a mid age male joined them and we watched them interact and took photos for hours, it was AMAZING! Then further along beach saw pregnant female, who looked like a cream caramel (reminded me of my dad as they were his favourites! =) The females are very rare, only about 20 in NZ, so I was very privelaged. Left her in peace, found some nesting little blue penguins. Just as we were leaving beach a local family arrived with a dog, the juvenile saw them, started to chase a little and they ran...he did exactly what Robert said he would and chased for a bit, made me laugh!

Went to ALbatross centre, yellow eyed colony centre and saw the birds. The albatross place was another highlight as they are one of my favourite birds, so to see them with the naked eye bonding as return to change shift from feeding at sea, watching juveniles practise flying and landing was truly remarkable. It's such a shame how alot of people are going on tours, have an hour to watch birds, look
Butter wouldn't melt!Butter wouldn't melt!Butter wouldn't melt!

This is one that charged, it looks like I'm close, I'm not as I had a good zoom lens.....my advice don't ever trust those big seal eyes! =p
for 5 mins, snap pics and then talk, get bored.....they're just ticking boxes because someone has said you must to such and such and instead of thinking 'hmmmm is that my type of thing or am I vaguely interested' they just go...one guy said when an Albatross flew over our heads...'its just a big gull whats all the fuss about' LOL!!

Left The Browns very reluctantly, wanted to get on his wildlife course and stay in Dunedin! Went to Otago Museum, saw exhibits on Mauri artifacts, huge war canoe, read some more history, saw exhibit on NZ fossils that was interesting, went into their recreated rainforest with butterflies etc., exhibit with skeletons of their extinct giant bird The Moa, sea serpents, giant extinct sharks, giant penguins and other bizarre looking creatures that no longer exist (or I hope not or I'm never snorkeling or scuba diving again!)

Carried on journey, stopped at Trotters Gorge for spot of lunch and got my face attacked by a Songthrush!! Talk about wild wildlife around here! Packed up and left psycho bird to it's happy place! Stopped at coastal places when they arrive and stretch legs, see seals and other birds. Stopped
Rare NZ Sea Lion FemaleRare NZ Sea Lion FemaleRare NZ Sea Lion Female

Underneath she was like a creme caramel =) She was in pup and would of been giving birth any day so didn't stay long at all. Apparently only about 20 on NZ so I was VERY fortunate!
at a cheesefactory and tasted local cheese, very nice.....bit smelly place though =p Came to Oamaru, lots of historic buildings in victorian style and they dress up and its like a reinactment of settlers times. A big Scottish influence here and in Dunedin, alot of families were from there. They have Highland games and when i was in Dunedin I heard bag pipes!! Went to Oamaru Blue Pengiun Colony, had behind scenes tour and saw 1 week old and 4 week old chicks in nests and the interaction with the adults, it was brilliant and the chirping noises were very cute! Had dinner at nice portside restaurant on balcony over looking sea, then went back to colony for night viewing. Sat on a grandstand area, waited for penguins to come in and watch them waddle over rocks, struggle with the waves getting on shore, going up a ramp and into their nestboxes where they make alot of noise for such a little bird! Some decide to not go the right route and end up in carpark, around visitors and there is a funny but essential 'Penuins crossing' sign and you have to check under your car before you leave!!
Boys will be BoysBoys will be BoysBoys will be Boys

And then there were three of them, 2 youngest were playing and the 'Big Daddy' was telling them to Sod Off! How lucky was I to watch all this =)

Left Oamaru today, now in Lake Tekapo, beautiful glacial blue lake. Small village on side and one of everything. There is an observatory on Mt John that I have booked in for a night observation and use of their scopes, don't know if on yet as cloudy at the moment.

Well thats it, heading to Akaroa near Christchurch tmrw (long drive) and swimming with Dolphins the day after, woo hoo!! Very excited! So for now I am off to have hot spa soak, bite to eat and then hopefully night star observation. Again no photos as I have hundreds and hundreds and need a good pc/internet cafe to burn onto DVD before I can put on here...stuck with my boring words sorry guys!

CONGRATULATIONS TO HEATHER AND PHIL (Grems brother and sisterinlaw) they have had baby boy and named him Lewis James =)

Take care everyone and catch up soon!
Liz xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

I'm not playing anymore!I'm not playing anymore!
I'm not playing anymore!

Youngest one thought play got too rough and wobbled hastily to the sea.....
Carved StatueCarved Statue
Carved Statue

It's amazing what Robert taught me, he had me laying in the grass and taking photo from angle that I wouldn't of thought of. This statue was at a used local Mauri Meeting House that I was lucky to see
Outside Meeting House - Otago PeninsulaOutside Meeting House - Otago Peninsula
Outside Meeting House - Otago Peninsula

I had Robert take this photo, bet it's worth squillions! =)
No EntryNo Entry
No Entry

Funny! This seal was trying to get through the gate, but I guess he didn't have a permit! lol All he had to do was swim round, lazy mammal
Fur Seal - Look At His Whiskers!Fur Seal - Look At His Whiskers!
Fur Seal - Look At His Whiskers!

The fur seal is not endangered like the Sea Lion. Sealing had them scarce once but now they are back in high numbers. Long whiskers, very naaaiiiiice!!
Evil Endangered Penguins!Evil Endangered Penguins!
Evil Endangered Penguins!

OK, so this little yellow eyed penguin is very endangered and they are doing everything they can to improve numbers, but I think they are penguin equivalent of Spectre....check out next pic.....
EVIL EYE PENGUIN!!EVIL EYE PENGUIN!!
EVIL EYE PENGUIN!!

See!! It's gotta be a little bit Beelzabub with that iris!
Killer Thrush!Killer Thrush!
Killer Thrush!

This is yet another doe eyed creature that attacked me......innocent little bird my foot!! It dived for my eyes...honest!!
Penguins Crossing!Penguins Crossing!
Penguins Crossing!

See, there really is a sign, it's a shame people watch the penguins and then speed along and kill a few every year.....grrrrrrr
Lupins RoadsideLupins Roadside
Lupins Roadside

Look what the Europeans brought with them and are now all along the roads like cow parsley at home. It's beautiful!


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb