Bring it on South Island, impress me!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
January 13th 2015
Published: January 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So I am off jet setting again, I thought long and hard about the destination, A good traveling friend of mine is heading to Mexico, that sounds amazing and I really want to head to Central America, then there is Africa, so many countries to choose from. Europe looks amazing, all great places to choose from. But I have settled on New Zealand. Some people may be a little confused about this, it’s not like I have never been there, with the being born there and all, and I do head there about once a year, in fact this will be my second trip here this year. However this time I am heading down to the South Island. Yes I have traveled to many places around the world. I have lived in Jungles, in deserts. I have come face to face with many deadly creatures, well o.k thats not that exciting as I live in Australia, and that is pretty much where I have encountered them all. But I have never really traveled to the South Island of New Zealand, it is about time that got rectified. So after months of planning, yet not really planning anything it is time to head off. After deciding to buy a car, much cheeper and hopefully will be able to resell it. I head off. Just me, my way too big tent for one person, it’s borrowed so that’s all that matters. and my reliable green bundle of joy I hit the road.



The first leg is one I know well, it’s a lovely drive from Hamilton to Paraparmumu, it is one that I have done many times in my life. It was a nice smooth drive, done in good time, it was good to see those snow caped mountains again, well just the one, it is summer time. After spending a few days catching up with the family the real journey begins.



So I head off on a Thursday afternoon to catch the Ferry across to Picton, this is not the most unfamiliar trip as I have done it a few times when I was a kid, It was a little different this time as I was driving. The trip was a little different to what I remember, mainly because the last time I did it would of been about 25 years ago and they are all
in the underground hold for carsin the underground hold for carsin the underground hold for cars

Clostraphopia is awesome, add petrol fumes and fun time ahead
new boats now. The scenery was pretty amazing, however I had forgot to put sunscreen on, I really must sort that out the lobster look is getting tired. So being a little wary about the ray’s I didn’t spend too much time outside. On a side note to those unaware of the New Zealand sun, it’s a bit of a trickster, you may look and the weather forecast and see that is is only about 24ish. Where I normally live that is cold, you would be wearing a jersey, here it burns, if the sun is in the sky, not being assured by clouds, it will burn you. If you forget to put sunscreen over every exposed part of your body, you will burn in about 10 minutes. It’s not cool, you look ridicules, and it hurts! Wear sunscreen, and travel with it at all times, you can never own enough bottles of sunscreen in this county. So back to the story. I’m having a great time on the boat. Catch some views, have a wander. Thankfully I had eaten a large breakfast because the food looked a little average, and overpriced, I did see some people having little picnics, memo to self I will be returning at lunch time when I head back so will pack a nice picnic. Then something happened. Just before turning up to N.Z my sister was telling me constantly that the weather was crap, rain, coldness all that stuff I avoid. Pretty much the day I turned up it got sunny, See I do bring the sunshine. It did rain that once, at night when it didn’t affect me, so I had taken it as a sign that N.Z was happy to see me. Picton did not get the memo, as we approached the South Island the clouds rolled in, as did the wind and the cold. South Island what way was this to great me, for years I have told everyone that the North Island was way better, pretty much S.I you were just proving my point.



So here I was in cold wet, windy Picton, it seems a little ironically that Wellington had been calm and sunny. I punch in the address of the “motel” I had booked in for the night. Again with the tricking. It wasn’t a motel, it was a backpackers that had a few private
celebrationcelebrationcelebration

My little celebration, in the awesome travel wine glass my awesome sis (opps sorry secret santa game person) got me, a little bubbles, Terrible room, but in the end I have bubbles and I'm on holidays
rooms that called them selves a backpackers/motel. Rookie mistake. The private room that I booked that was 8 sqare meters was more like 8 square feet. They must of built the bed in the room, I have no idea how they got it in otherwise. It was filthy, smelt funny, and so noisey. The bathrooms that were supposed to be right next door to the room was in fact all the way across the other end of the hostel, through the living room. It was awesome having to get up in the middle of the night to go to the loo and having to walk past all these strangers looking how I do when I have been sleeping, not that there was much sleeping as no one paid any attention to the noise restrictions and the noise travelled badly, it actually was quieter in the lounge then some of the rooms. in reality I should of just headed straight to Blenheim. I had been concerned about motion sickness on the boat, and being drowsy if I took something. I know for next time, and best advise I can give people, if you are driving just get off the boat and
Bad SelfieBad SelfieBad Selfie

I just can't do the selfie thing. great coastline on the way to kiakora
head to Blenheim. It is so much nicer there. And not that far away.



So after not the best night I am anxious to see what else the S.I has to offer. I take the short drive to Blenheim and catch up with a dear old friend. When I was 7 we moved to Upland Road in Huntly. Almost 30 years on we are still friends with the neighbours that we first met, one of them now live in Blenheim, so it was really nice to catch up. After spending a bit of time there and sorting things out like my expired rego on a car, I mean come on who does a road trip and not checks to see when the rego needs to be renewed before setting off! Nice work me. In my defence I really didn’t know what day of the week it was, holiday mode and all of that, but got it sorted. After taking my time getting going I think it might be nice to spend the time in Kiakora, it was only a couple of hours away, so I thought I would see how things were going.



So off I head to Kaikora. Now I have heard time and time again how beautiful the South Island is, I have also heard that the roads can be a little tough, but really have you been to the Coramandal, now thats an interesting drive, now thats an interesting drive. I thought that since I have seen the photos and driven some pretty steep windey roads it wouldn’t be anything that new for me. I was so wrong! It was amazing, a little terrifying, but AMAZING. The trip that should of taken me a couple of hours took over 3. I just had to keep stopping to take it in. I decided it was in my best interest to actually watch the road while driving. I had the best fun just driving. I once watched a top gear episode with Jemmy Clarkson and he was talking about the joy of just going for a drive. I’ve never hated driving, well apart from that one time that I drove from Kumarina to Perth in 40 + heat with no air con! I totally get what he is talking about. It was great in my little cheep Green? ( I really want to name her Green machine sounds wankery, it will come to me, she will have a name at the end of the trip) but I could only imagine what it would be like driving in one of his super nice cars. The water was breath taking and even though the road was a little scary at times it was such an amazing drive. By the time I got to Kiakora I was on a little high. I decided to stop for some coffee, as promised to so many people in Aus, my coffee habit is getting completely out of control and I love it. They make it so good here, and proper. They put 2 shots in a small flat white, how it should be, all sorts of awesomeness. So as I was drinking yet another great coffee, I was looking for accommodation. I didn’t want to put up the tent, and I didn’t want to spend too much. This turned out into not finding anything. I made a snap decision to book something in Christchurch and just keep going. In hindsight maybe shouldn’t off, as I passed through lots of little towns that had cheep accommodation, but oh we’ll. So I pushed through, some more amazing views and the drive was enjoyable. At least I didn’t have to put up the tent when I got there. I got there safe and sound checked in then decided to grab something to cook for the night. This is also where google maps got the chop from my iPhone. Google maps the earthquake hit almost 4 years ago, cop on with the roads! Oh and google search why did you send me to the nearest super market that was 30min away when the next day I drove through one that was 2 min away in the other direction.





In the end it worked out all right. I got some food and headed back to the motel, this time a proper one. It was time to take stock. It had been a few great days. Picton was disappointing, but that is a distant memory. The rest of the trip so far has been amazing. I did two days of diving at close to 500km, an almost 100km trip on a ferry and some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, I should know. Maybe I am bias, but I really do believe there is know were quite so amazing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb