Yesss!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To my (and no doubt, travelling friends' ) great relief and pleasure, I saw some whales today, at last!! No more need to peer at boulders in the sea and whistfully claim to have seen a whale. We sighted four sperm whales, a pod of dolphins of about at least 50 and lots of the albatrosses. What a place this is!! The weather has been glorious and the trip was not too rough until they turned the boat round to return to the port. Then queasiness hit several of us.

I visited the remaining whalers' cottage which has been turned into a museum, then another museum which had a padded jailhouse behind the main building. My goodness, some of those people must have been really angry when they were incarserated (that doesn't look the right spelling...) the leather had several inches of padding behind it and the room was virtually pitch black. Not a place to spend the week-end!

Tonight is my last night in the convent - have I told you that I spent my night in Nelson at a backpackers shrine to VW Beetles? It was called The Bug. Every room was named after different areas like Nelson Bug. The pictures were mostly beetles and there were lots of model cars around too. Great fun, strangely I felt homesick for the first time. I hope Herbie is OK!!

Tomorrow I head north again to Picton ready to sail back to the north Island, past the incredibly dry areas. The south is a lovely area though and I wil come back.

Advertisement



20th March 2008

Wales
I dont know how you could see Wales from NZ, its to the left of Shropshire
20th March 2008

Herbie
Hi Lizzy P. Herbie will be fine and having a nice rest. He will be pleased to see you and will perhaps require a new flower or two? He will be all charged ready for some adventure when you get back. Just rev him up, give him a kiss and he will be fine!! Whale etc spotting sounds lovely. Love, John
20th March 2008

Re:Yesss!
Imagine that; a shrine to VW Beetles! My husband would be in heaven!!
21st March 2008

Hah
You bloomin dyslexics!! But what a sight they were - one of my pinch me moments on the trip.
21st March 2008

Herbie
Hi John, I left him with new flowers when I went - bribery being the surest way of working your way through a problem like desertion!! Saw some fabulous veteran cars today - 1920s. They were fantastic.
21st March 2008

Bugs
I will try to find the website and send it on - I hope they have photos because it was a fun place to stay.
21st March 2008

Beetle power
I hope you got some good piccies of the VW Beetle shrine, I had to read it twice, it seemed so unlikely, trust you to find such a whacky place! I think the pearly Corbett Car Park one is no more, will check it out. Haven't you heard from Best Bod yet? I'm working on it.
24th March 2008

Beetle
Oh no!! I have just got some good advice on how to find out who owns it too - drat!! Still I hope he has gone to a good home. And best bod seems to have deserted me..... but he's a man!!

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb