Day 7: West Coast Drive (Bruce Bay + Fantail Falls + Blue Pools + Knights Point)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Haast Pass
December 24th 2011
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

No wonder NZ beef taste so good. Because they were happy when they lived! They were mostly grew free range, with clean air, fresh water, pretty scenery… And no visit to NZ is complete without taking picture of the cows and sheeps at the fields. There are so many of them across NZ, I even saw dots of sheeps before my plane landed out of Christchurch.

So with so many options, it’s natural to wish that I could get the perfect setting as background. How about mountain capped with snow and glacier plus some blue sky? Boom. We got it. I asked M to take a turn for no strong reason. And when we least expected – there it is. The setting that I wanted. M called it my chain of lucks (referring to the endless blue sky for days, escape from earthquakes, the lupin fields, etc). I called it being blessed by God. M said, what is missing is just the rainbow.

We continue to drive along the West Coast – which is supposed to be very scenic. I don’t know what to expect though. And then we saw the Bruce Bay beach. M particularly loved the swipey clouds. Before he mentioned it, I never noticed that is categorized as “pretty” in particular. For me, blue sky is sufficient to make me happy. Then I told M the photo concept that I had in mind since back home. It’s stacked rocks with ocean as the background. It’s suppose to represent zen, peacefulness or something like that. He ran with the idea and got a good shot. Unfortunately until end of the journey, I never caught a perfect picture with that concept itself. But M did gave me several rocks for my inception, because I kept saying it feels like a dream – he told me to hang on to those rocks until I’m back. So I know that it was real.

We then pass Knights Point, which is like the mini version of the Twelve Apostles in Australia. There we some more scenic stops along the way. But brought me beyond my happy scale was Fantail waterfall… Before the journey, I never heard of it specifically. It’s just a small waterfall. Quite humble. But the water was very clear. Although most lakes and rivers in South Island is crystal clear anyway. Then I stepped aside to a quieter side of the river, took of my shoes and walk in the water. It was so cold and refreshing… For me what’s memorable is because it’s such a small waterfall, it felt so exclusive because there’s hardly any other tourist there. As I sip the water, I enjoy how refreshing it is and hoped I don’t get sick over it. And then I thought – hmm, perhaps I should sip the water BEFORE I put my feet in it ha ha ha… Another blonde moment.

The next stop is a famous one. Blue Pools. I’ve heard so much about it. You’ll need to bush walk for about 30 mins before you eventually see it. It’s basically like another part of the river. A portion of the water got “stuck” or something and it radiates this very blue color. Gorgeous. Awesome. What other words can I use to describe it?

Then suddenly under the swing bridge there was a small commotion. Several people were cheering on this middle aged woman. OMG, she took her top off and then skinny dip in the Blue Pools! M was right in front of her for the show ha ha ha… He said he was traumatized and lost appetite to explore the Blue Pools further ha ha ha… Owh come on, it can’t be THAT bad. Unfortunately the Blue Pools was too crowded so I can’t jump into the water. Glad I did that in the Fantail waterfall instead.

Looking at the clock, wow… we’re behind schedule again. And as usual, we need to catch the check in deadline. So we passed Wanaka and the pretty Lake Hawea with barely no stops. It seems like a crime to pass it in such a beautiful afternoon – but that’s the less between two evils. Better that rather than sleeping in the car.

Reaching Queenstown, I was sooo happy seeing my room. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was modern, so clean, etc. Plus it has a free laundry room at the hallway! Luckily I snatched a 3 for 2 nights deal. Without the deal, this Peppers Beacon hotel was actually out of my price range. M is also happy with his hostel – about 750 meters away from mine. He said it’s one of the most humaine during this trip, plus he got the wifi that he badly needed.

And you know what else greets us in Queenstown? Rain. I laughed at M and said “See, our luck finally ends. No more blue sky.” Then he pointed out there are double rainbows on the horizon, right over Queenstown & Lake Wakatipu. I was awed. It was M who wanted the rainbow. So it must be his luck. But somehow he insisted it’s MY luck because he never got this much luck on a trip. But then, the drizzle stops. Then the sky opens up again, and delivered this gorgeous pink sunset. So the rain drizzle was only meant to deliver the double rainbows? Wow.

I don’t know whether it was the sunset, the air, or just the several great days that we experienced together. But we ended up having a heart to heart conversation. I learn more about him in this journey vs the past 7 years that I’ve known him. We actually traveled together before, but it didn’t go so well – to say the least. Both of us must’ve grown up since then, because this time the trip was much smoother.

We might not believe in the same values, we might not see things in the same light all the time and we obviously want different things in life. But I wished him true happiness in our different paths. And I’m sure he wished me happiness too. I’m glad to walk away from this journey with a little bit more understanding where he’s coming from. That night, I have a feeling that we’ve just made good friends for life. I am at peace.

To view more of my travel pictures – pls go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/ariyanti_p/sets/72157628705874019/


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



14th January 2012
Love is by process, chemistry is overrated

I love this picture. Great idea.
14th January 2012
Love is by process, chemistry is overrated

thanks Chris & Nikki!!!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 140; dbt: 0.1141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb