Franz Josef


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
March 21st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was looking forward to Franz Josef as it's in the mountains and should expect awesome views. Luckily we were blessed with great weather, so we could experience seeing New Zealand in all it's glory. I wanted to stay for 3 nights, but due to booking the bus late we had to stay 5 nights. So Charlotte and I (who is following me) only had 2 nights with the crew before they left us, so we hit the bar again in the evenings. I did have 2 quiet nights in a row to give the body a break.

We did the glacial hike on sunday and I thought it was alright. You have to wait a lot for the guides to chip away with their axes to carve a path, but still being on the ice was cool, walking with the crampons on didn't feel slippy at all and saw some fantastic views. Also due to the sun it wasn't that cold, so only needed 2 layers.

The rest of our days were spent doing a few walks and basically just chilling, taking in the scenery. I also took part in 2 killer pools. The first I got really unlucky, we had 2 lives and I lost them in my first 2 shots, every time I came to the table I had no shot and had to try and something audacious. The second competition I did a lot better and stupidly came second. Got down to the final 2 of about 25, I had 2 lievs left he had 1. The beer was affecting my play and missed a makeable shot, then the epic failure happened. I knocked in an easy plant and tried to put the cue ball at the other end of the table and put him under pressure only to put the white in the pocket. The prize was for a whitewater rafting trip worth $185. I was so distraught, got to aggressive and cocky.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb