Picton-Abel Tasman-Barry town-Franz Josef


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
May 4th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow what an amazing few days! Since my last update I went to a place called Abel Tasman, which is the second largest national park in new zealand, we got there pretty late after a few pit stops for shopping and a wine tasting session in Marlborough, mmmm. Mum it turns out I dont like chardonnay at all not just that one we had, but the other wines were goooood!

Abel Tasman was fantastic, it was really warm and sunny, we took a walk along a really cool track to a place called anchorage bay. The walk was through really lush forest with the sea just beyond the trees, just before we got to the beach the landscape changed and became quite sandy but still quite green. When we reached anchorage bay we literally stepped out of the trees onto this amazing blue sea, white sand beach. Wow! After some lunch we hopped on the catamaran that was waiting for us! it was nice, just lying on the boat sailing along a beautiful coast line, saw some more seals (they love new zealand!).

From Abel Tasman the next day we went to Barry Town, or Baz Vegas as it is also known 😊 on the way we were supposed to stop for a few walks but we had to pass through a massive gorge (very scenic) but an unsteady boulder delayed us. Some rubble had fallen onto the road and a boulder at the top was threatening to come a tumbling down! but thank fully a man with a crane came along and sorted it out (I dont know the fate of the boulder). We did still have time for one walk to Pancake rocks, which was beautiful there were loads and loads and loads of flat rocks stacked on top of eachother in the sea.

Onto Barrytown, the smallest town I've been to, where we had a party!! It was fancy dress, the theme was 'T'. I went as a traffic light as my head torch has a red setting, very funny! It was a good night and we all got to know eachother better which was lovely.

Thankfully I did not drink too much Baz Vegas Brew as the morning after I took part in a spot of bone carving. We went to this shack just across the road from where we were staying, and chose a template and a bone (Cow bones, dont worry, or ,maybe do worry?) the ladies very nicely cut the bone down then we had to sand and sand and sand and sand . . . and sand it. lots of standing and a very smelly, dusty time later, I have a necklace with a cow bone carved into the Maori symbol of a fish hook, which is to bring me strength, determination, safe travel over seas. Apparently over time the Bone absorbs oil from your skin, so if you give it away its got a part of you in it (I know you all want me lol)! It was very relaxing and therapeutic and I was quite pleased at the end that I had made something.

From Barry town we went on to Franz Josef, which is where I am now. It was quite a long and very wet drive to get here, so arrived late afternoon, did some washing (yessss I now have clean clothes, I know this is the kind of riveting information you were all looking for), went to the bar and went to bed. It was lovely to speak to everyone i spoke to last night (or yesterday morning for you), i love you all lots.

Today was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Today I went for a Glacier Hike! All day hiking on the glacier. We had to climb down steep parts holding onto a rope, squeeze through really tight crevasses, climb up steep inclines, it was gorgeous! We had boots and crampons, so were well prepared. There were holes and cravasses all over, it was just so amazing being on/in the ice! Some times I would look around me and all I could see was white/blue ice, such a beautiful site and sooooo much fun walking on it. When I have more time i will upload the photos which will do a much better job of describing it than me.

Moving on tomorrow, if the weather stays clear and sunny I could possibly have an extremely exciting morning! but until next time, sending big hugs to everyone . . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb