Lake Matherson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
March 26th 2013
Published: March 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

I awake to a very damp smelling room, joy, but hoorah, it’s not raining! I go for a walk to the other end of town just in case I missed something yesterday (unfortunately not) and pick up some milk for breakfast from the petrol station on the way back. After breakfast and a spot more reading as I wait for the cloud to clear a little more, I walk the 6km out of town to Lake Matherson, to check out its famous reflections.

When I reach the lake I am relieved to find there is more life then the whole of Fox Glacier town combined! It has a very posh and lovely café/restaurant and an art gallery come gift shop. Despite it starting to rain very lightly, I head to complete the 1.5hr walking circuit of the lake, crossing several lovely richty old wooden suspension bridges in the process. I am rewarded for my efforts with a stunning view of Mount Tasman and Mount Cook in the lake. The mountains peaks are clear and bright with the surrounding tops encapsulated in cloud. By the time I have finished the walk, about 1pm, the clouds have thickened and are laying low, completely engulfing all of the scenery. I treat myself to a sit down and a smoothie at the posh café for lunch - enjoying the fresh (not musty) air, and after a wonder round the art gallery/gift shop I walk the 6km along the main road (in which time 2 cars pass me, that’s how quiet it is here!) to the ‘main’ town.

I buy some internet time at an extortionate rate, and spend the remainder of the afternoon booking up more hostels, transport and updated my blog which has got rather behind, due to the lack of internet where I have been staying in Wanaka.

I am rather hungry after not much at lunch time, and cook my pasta and veg for an early dinner around 6pm. This is the time to cook obviously, just three other people around, and I am the first to use the cooker hob….hoorah! I spend the evening chatting to the French boy and girl who are staying in my room this evening, hearing about all there past travel in Asia, Malaysia, Australia and around.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Fox Glacier - Lake MathersonFox Glacier - Lake Matherson
Fox Glacier - Lake Matherson

New Zealand main road - complete with goat


Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb