Weather Delay


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, we have come across some weather. Travelling down to Fiordland we started to encounter some rain, but didn't realize it would set in for as long as it has. We attempted to go kayaking in one of the many fiords in Fiordland, but all outfitters were booked solid. So, we hung out in Te Anau watching the rain and then finally decided to take a drive through Fiordland and out to Milford Sound, the most famous of all the fiords. Driving out there was unlike anything I've ever seen. The mountains, the extremely green, mossy forests, and then the waterfalls. Never in my life have I seen so many waterfalls. Milford was pretty good, it could have been a little bit more clear, but that's asking a little much when you're in Fiordland. This place gets 10 metres of rain a year. After hanging around there for a couple days we were satisfied and headed back up north for a night's stay in Wanaka. We really like this place which explains why we have ended up here so many times. From there we drove back to Mount Cook Village for an attempt at the Ball Pass(2,200 metres). The rain was still hanging around this part of the country too, but we thought we'd try and wait it out. Four days later we were still socked in by the weather, with no possible attempt at doing the hike. I was also growing tired of camping in the rain, so we came to Christchurch. I am now sick with a sinus infection. I am guessing it started out as a cold from being out in all the rain and then progressed to what it is now. I will be getting some pictures up soon; I forgot to bring my camera with me this time. I'll be heading back up to the North Island in a couple of days and start my trip back up to Auckland.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb