More Adventures


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

CatlinsCatlinsCatlins

View from a lighthouse southern NZ
So I dont remember what it was I wrote about last, I also don't rember the day of the week. When every day is Saturday you tend to forget those types of thigs and I'm here to tell you it feels great. So I did the Bungee Jumping thing In Queenstown then headed south to the Catlins where I did more hiking, saw a yellow-eyed penguin and my first petrified forest, that was truly amazing. Then I tought about going to Stewart Island but do to a group of unfortunate events I was detured form that course and found my way back to the neerest town. Where luck would have it I found a opening on the Milford Track. This paticular hike through the Fiordlands has been booked up for mounths and I just happend to walk into the booking office right after a cancellation. Now I as you, were the events that lead me there unfortunate or a blessing in disgise. I guess good presents often come in bad wrapings. So now I have some time to kill, 12 days until I do the Milford track. So what to do??? Oh wait thats right im in the Fiordland National Park. A better question might be what not to do. I have spent the past couple of days hiking around, camping and climbing mountains, all the while enjoying some of the most beautiful landscape I have ever seen. I spent a few days in a backcountry hut on Green lake. Provided by the NZ Department of Conservation these huts run you about $3.50 Dollars a day and are equiped with beds toilets and fireplaces. Not a bad place to "kill" some time. So my journey on the Milford track now starts in 4 days. I think a few more campsites and a couple waterfalls are in order and then I join 30 others on what is suppose to be one of the most beautiful hikes in the world. I would say at this point life couldent be better. Dispite the fact that I don't remember my last hot shower, or the day of the week. However today I did do my laundry so thats nice. I also made further plans today regarding this trip. As of now I have one more month to enjoy NZ and then off to Thailand for some much needed meditation. Current idea involves a moped and coconut with a straw and a little umbrella. But we will see how things go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

YogaYoga
Yoga

Yoga on the deepest lake in NZ


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb