Milford Track: Day 4


Advertisement
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's the last day on the track. Mixed feelings about it - good that it's coming to a close (shower, clean clothes, and a real bed will be nice), and a little sad, too (the moutains, the river, the quiet, and the friends).

The forecast calls for possible showers, but hopefully I can beat the rain. It's 18km from the hut to Sandfly Point and the ferry to Milford Sound, but it's all gently downhill. Again, the scenery is stunning. Mountains, waterfalls, and the river which changes from churning torrent to broad and lazy. In the end, there's Sandfly Point. About eight of us finish the last kilometre together. The view from the pier is amazing and the breeze keeps the sandflies at bay. Over the next few minutes the last of our group arrives, just as the ferry puts in. We pile on for a twenty minute ride to Milford Sound.

I'm on the bow with about ten others and the view is fantastic. Lot's of photos. Then the skipper warns us to expect some sprays as he rounds the point. Small spray. I'm a little wet. Photo. Twist my body to shield my camera. The next three "sprays" pretty much drench me, but my camera is safe. I'm cold and I'm wet. Once off the boat, goodbye's are said and it's time to find the hostel. About fifteen of us are staying there and I end up sharing a room with the couple from Germany. Shower. Laundry. Supper. Bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.2037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb