Why did I do this?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 16th 2015
Published: May 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I haven't posted on here in a while last time I posted I was up in Motueka panicking about what I was going to do.
The rest of the trip didn't help it was perfect we went to the Antarctic centre had fun baking, talked constantly it was just perfect I fell there and then. The two of us sat crying in the dark saying we loved each other.
I made the decision then I was going to stay.
Telling my parents was one of the hardest things to tell them I'm staying out here even longer. It was pretty tough to tell them that also when I had to tell them it was a guy too. It was one of the toughest things I've done.
I booked a flight to Australia as needed to leave NZ to apply for Visa. So I left there in a pretty bad way it didn't end well when I left as I found out he was on this dating sight I wasn't sure if I could trust him.
In Australia I landed back in Sydney to the hotel where me and Laura stayed. I spent a couple of days there holed up deciding what I was going to do before going back to hostels. Gemma was there and I spoke to her a bit about it and I decided to give it a shot and head back to NZ.
Since then I have spent the last few months in Christchurch we are still together committed and happy. It's been tough there have been lows such as getting of the plane to surprise him and found out he was still on this dating site. If it wasn't for the fact that I had told my parents I knew best and for the fact I was on my own with this visa I could only use once. I would of left then just said forget it. I'm glad I didn't. This relationship has taken a lot of getting used to and it's been work from the start having to fight to stay by getting a job have to move from hostel after hostel before settling in my own place. To becoming unemployed again when the job finished and looking for work again. The relationship itself has been strained where I have had to learn to trust him and he has had his own issues starting uni giving up work moving places, it's been a battle which we have stuck by each other and we have come out the other end. And the reason I've done that is because I love him.
We have had so many highs day trips Akaroa, Kaikoura, tramping in Motueka. The routine we fell into and how easy it was to connect.
Have I found someone I can be with happily? Yes I have. It's tough knowing I have limited time here before my Visas up and that's why I have to make the most of it.
And that's what I recommend to everyone I'm now living in Christchurch one of the places I deemed awful to visit. I've been back and forth to New Zealand ridiculous amount of times. But the opportunity to travel is limited take it! And sometimes the places you don't see the beauty in turn out to hold all the jewels and you may not even get much into your travels before finding that place.
I have found my place and I'm happy I have half a year left here before I have to return and I'm going to make the most out of it.
And to every fellow traveller make the most of your days too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb