Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 22nd 2012
Published: March 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

EdorasEdorasEdoras

Home of the Horse Lords
After arriving at Foley Towers BBH (pictures of John Cleese everywhere) I collapsed into my room with 2 irish guys over for the rebuild and had been in Christchurch for about 18 months! Not surprisingly they were sick of the place. Was awake all night due to jetlag and the irish snoring and had a hellish time trying to confirm my place on a tour the next day.

In the morning I was picked up by the minibus and taken out to Mt Sunday (Edoras) and took about 200 photos while trying to keep my eyes open the whole time, even if you weren't a massive LOTR nerd this trip would have been well worth it, the scenery was absolutely stunning with the snow capped mountains and vast shallow valleys it looked like something straight out of a film.

Once back at the hostel I was told my my WWOOF host not to arrive until a day later as if I arrived on saturday then I would not have to work and therefore had not earned my bed and food for the day, which looking back is the first sign I got that the family was a bunch of crazies. So I spent a day looking around the post-earthquake wasteland of Christchurch searching for food and taking in the destruction, amazing there is so much rubble 2 years on! Fell asleep very hungry and tired around 1600 and was again, kept up all night by snoring!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 48; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb