Eastern Cities


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is my first blog entry as Uncle Peter! My sister had her baby on the 15th July, he's healthy and doing well by all accounts (detailed one's about feeding and the like I get from a women i'm now calling grandmother!). He's called Tai Salvador Meyer Jackson, though I don't think we need say all that at once. I'm very annoyed at being on the other side of the world but Helen assure me i'm only going to miss the gross bits!!!

Anyway, where did i leave you all last time, Invercargill? That was not the most interesting place in the world but it did at least give me a chance to see the 'third island' from the shore. Its called Stewart Island, and is the south, south island of nz. Its like a scottish island, walking and birds but expensice to get there! Heading north up the east coast I found myself in Dunedin, thats cletic for edinburgh the city on which its streets where planned. Its a nice city, small (massive by nz standards) but friendly and interesting with a great student feel. I did a brewery tour with free beer and managed to get very drunk with my fellow tourees. The best part of Dunedin was a wildife tour to see seals and yellow eyed penguins! Yes penguins just walking out of the sea and climbing mountains, crazy little kids - very cute.

Also while in Dunedin I shared a hostel room with four 20 year olds from Christchurch in a rock band, playing a gig in the city the next night - to which i was invited. Somehow I ended up doing a bit of unexpected 'wwoofing' for them, and was the door man for the night!! That was amusing, espically as one of the band members though snorting sugar (in the little packets) was a good way to stay up! Rock stars?!?

My stay in Christchuch was brief as i'm going back there in a few weeks, but good all the same. This is nz's 'English City' and it really does feel little that. Little boats going down the river, with dead trees! Actually made it feel like winter for once, on the west coast the rainforest is evergreen..... Thats partly why i'm back there now, living in the rainforest again!!! Staying here for a few weeks then back on to, actually i'm not sure....








Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

City centre river, with European trees
Banks PennisulaBanks Pennisula
Banks Pennisula

The reason i'm going back to Christchurch


25th July 2006

Baby
HA now your an uncle too! that means expensive presents and children who only have to like you when they choose to! Sounds like your having fun still! you'll have to come home soon apparently your being missed An t hon y
25th July 2006

You and your bloody blog!
Me me me, thats all you ever talk about! lol Well thats the point of a blog I suppose. Cant believe she's finally dropped. Im sure that makes me an honourary uncle. Hurry back mister and we can get to work on messing with his head! x

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb