Heading Out


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in the Christchurch airport waiting for my flight back to Auckland...starting the 28-hour trip home. It's actually snowing here, so I'm hoping there will be no travel problems. Going from one weather extreme to the other...I'm sure it's nice and warm in AL.

Spent the last couple of days here in Christchurch...nice city. Had some great Indian food a couple of nights ago and then managed to get wrapped up in more drinking games at our hostel with a group comprised of a couple of my American friends, a British girl, a Norwegian girl, a guy from Australia, and a guy from Sweden (I think). I'm bringing back all kinds of great and mature drinking game knowledge. I'm so proud.

Spent a good part of yesterday at the International Antarctic Centre here in Christchurch, which is the base for many countries' (including the US') operations in Antarctica. It was pretty cool...rode in a Haagland vehicle, which they use in Antarctica, on a simulated course and stood in a simulated Antarctic storm. This site is where almost all of the flights take off that head to the various stations in Antarctica. It was a good rainy day activity.

I guess this entry will be my last on this "holiday." Thanks to all of the dedicated readers...I know it's been a thrill for you. Have some great pictures to show when I get back.

Oh, and if those of you who get e-mail notices when I post got one earlier today, disregard. Somebody else here in New Zealand managed somehow to post on my page, but I've deleted the entry.

Cheers.

ASN


Advertisement



22nd June 2006

The fat lady is warming up
I have enjoyed the blog. You squeezed a lot more in than I managed to in a longer trip. By the way, if had to be a corp. atty I wouldn't come back. Have you considered faking your own death and starting over under a new identity? I hear that works. It was 99 here yesterday. Heat index of 105. Welcome back.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb