The road to Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 10th 2005
Published: February 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's another 5 + hour drive today and I woke up with a furry tongue and a wee buzz in my head, cold shower sorts me out and we're on the road at 10am.

The road to Christchurch is ace for driving, straight after straight and you can see for miles so overtaking is easy, the scenery isn't up to much just flat lands, dessert like or burnt grass. It gets real hot out here, Alexandra ,a close by town, has been recording 37 since we've been here, it's a bit inland from Dunedin though.

We drive through some familiar places on the way, Clyde, St Andrews, Prestwick, Hampden, Mosgeil and stop for lunch in Timaru. I get myslef in some trouble with the law for the first time on our trip, for daring to reverse park while facing oncoming traffic, of which there was none.

We were driving through the town centre looking for somewhere to park to eat and I spotted a space on the opposite side of the road, there was nothing coming the other way so I pulled over and reversed into the space, no worries, or so I thought.

A minute later at the bank machine this eager cop tells me I've just performed a very dangerous manouver, yes the reverse park, and he didn't appreciate it, he then asked how I expected to get out of the space as I was facing the oncoming traffic. I suggested that I'd wait for a break in the busy traffic, no cars had passed us during our chat, then drive out.

He walked away muttering something about tourists and I gave him the 'vicky' behind his back, much to my and the guy next to me at the banks amusement, Fiona wasn't chuffed though, she though we were going to jail, I assured her we weren't, well not for parking anyway and off we went for lunch.

Two hours later and we were in Christchurch and it looks really nice, the hostel is about 20 mins walk from the centre along the river Avon and is lovely, a huge room, great facilities, a garden with a dog and a football and a Scottish girl called Fiona at reception, what more can you ask for?

The only problem is that Murphy the dog keeps making me go in goals, I'm defo taking shots tomorrow though, just you wait and see.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb