Finally Done


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 31st 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

My last couple days in Antarctica were pretty busy. A person who services the Automated Geophysical Observatories (AGOs), stations around Antarctica that are very similar to the one that I am building, brought a broken 20 year old magnetometer for me to install. I had to do a lot of repairs to get it working properly enough.

The batteries finished, so I loaded them on a pallet, brought them out to Willy Field, and installed them again. Afterwards, the power was flowing and all the instruments were up and running. A little tidying up was in order and a little more fidgeting, then I put the door on and sealed it up tight.

In the meantime, there was bluegrass night at the Coffee/Wine House that I went to. I also went on a couple hikes. A few times to Hut Point to look for penguins , and the Ob Hill loop. I took a tour of Discovery Hut and there was dead things laying all over and a permeating smell of animal blubber that was burned for warmth in the stove.

I took off on a C-17 for Christchurch Friday at 4p.m. and arrived just in time to see the first sunset in a month. Night time is delectable!

I have gone around making travel arrangements, on a nice walk and lazying about at the beach, and wandered down town to the Sol Square for live jazz at a place called Fat Eddie's and more live music in a square surrouned by bars, clubs, and buildings. I need to wait here until Monday to sign something at the travel agency, then I will be on my way West through Arthur's pass to Abel Tasman and the great walk there.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb