Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The day I said goodbye to Wanaka, the sky was perfectly clear and all the mountains surrounding the town were white. It would have been a perfect day to go riding. Our friend Jill kindly helped me get ready and took me to the airport. The night before I had gone out with Julia, Ma, and their friends and said my goodbyes, so I had to operate on 2 hours sleep. I arrived in Christchurch at around 1 oclock, and the weather was still absolutely perfect. My backpack is unbelievably huge, I think I may need to unload some stuff or improve my packing skills.


Waiting for the bus into town, I met a Canadian girl named Shawna who was also traveling alone and we ended up hanging out all day. The city is beautiful, but feels kind of more like a really large town than a city. It’s very English, and has a lot of really interesting old Victorian homes. We ate lunch in Cathedral Square, the city center, while watching people doing capoiera, a man preaching from the Bible, and some guys juggling and riding unicycles. We just barely missed the weekend Arts Center Market, but we did stroll through the botanical gardens, which had some of the craziest trees I’ve ever seen in my life. In the evening we found a grocery store, cooked dinner at Shawna’s hostel, and played games with some of her hostel-mates until late. It was my first time in a hostel, and it was a thoroughly pleasing experience; its really fun meeting people from all over and sharing the same space. I am staying at Base Backpackers, in a room with 3 bunks but only one other person. It's big and maze-like, clean, cheap, I recommend it.


Today I basically did nothing, because I slept in quite late to reduce my level of sleep deprivation. I went running once I woke up, but didn’t really have time for much else besides trying to figure out what to do tomorrow. It’s fun to wander the city, but only for so long, and I’m really at a loss for what to do next. None of the activity guides are very helpful, since they mostly offer the most expensive and touristy options available. I’d like to just go hiking, that can’t be that difficult. I didn’t even have the chance to feel alone yesterday, but I’m definitely already feeling it today. It’s going to take some getting used to. I also have to figure out some better meal options besides canned beans. A phone call from home really cheered me up.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

My new friend ShawnaMy new friend Shawna
My new friend Shawna

Giant tulips at the botanic gardens
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

This tree looks like it has a bajillion trunks! Its like out of a dream.
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Ahhh! So wierd!


29th September 2008

dead center...
puns hurt... not just the reader but the person who put them up... Glad you are having a fun time with nice people! don't worry about the loneliness because it will go away! Jimmy
1st October 2008

have fun and check out hospitalityclub.org and couchsurfing.org while you travel they are good sites ok. Oh and "hello" found your profile and blog by accident have fun

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb