First Week in Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, the first week in Christchurch has been interesting. Sleeping on Sarah's floor was alright for a few nights, but I think her flatmates have noticed my extended visit so I've checked into a hostel in the City Centre. It pretty cozy, not a big hostel, right next to the park and some churches and schools. So far I have no dormmates and it's Friday so if no one claims a bed tonight or tomorrow I may be in the clear to have the whole room to myself all week.

While Sarah's at work I've been attempting to find a job, however, to no avail yet. My accent gives me away as a potential employee that would not be permanent. It's alright, I'm highly overqualified for all the positions I'm applying for, so someone will want to hire me! Other than that, I've just been wandering around the city and the park, lots to see. I've also been strangely drawn to the clothing stores, at which I've had to remind myself that I have limited backpack space for new purchases!

Last night, me, Sarah and a bunch of her friends all went to town. It was quite a different experience than going downtown in Vancouver. It was a Thursday but some places stayed open til 3 am. We managed to make it to 4 clubs, all with no line-ups or cover charges. It was nice to hop around to a bunch of different places rather than stay at one club just because we shelled out $10 and waited an hour to get in! Started at Iconic which wasn't bad, moved on to Boogy Nights which had an old school lit up dance floor with disco lights and 70s music. Next we went to Treehouse which is a kareoke bar at which people actually dance to the music. We ended the night at Shooters which was a blast, totally packed with people. One of the highlights of the evening was, when I said that I was from Canada, being asked if that was near Iraq. That one will keep me entertained for awhile I think!

Today was pretty low-key, just Sarah and I hanging around and talking. It's been a great week so far, cross my fingers that someone will hire me when I call back later this week!

Advertisement



12th August 2008

You lucky dawg you!
so jealous! you are making me miss travelling... wish i was in your shoes!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb