And so to the South Island..........


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First stop was Kaikoura on the East coast where whales abound and seafood is sold in every other shop. With the weather seemingly fine and dandy I decided to camp but sadly my first night there marked the end of the camping dream. It was freezing. By 4 I was shivering. By 5 I was in the shower trying to warm up. By 6 I was on the beach and by 7 I saw the sunrise. So not a wasted experience entirely but it was still a joy to find a hostel nearby and crash out in a warm and uninhabited dorm.

Later that day I went for a long walk, saw some snoozing seals and gazed at some great scenery. On my return to the hostel I met the 2 German women sharing the dorm who'd arrived (seperately) that day and immediatley didn't hit it off. Made for an interesting night anyway with one ranting about people who snore and then telling me and the other woman off for talking as she wanted to sleep and then proceeding to snore the night away. Marvellous. The joys of community living......

After Kaikoura I headed for Christchurch and met up with some friends of the people I'd met in the Northland. Stayed at a lady called Kathleen (and her family)'s for a couple of nights and hopefully gave her some helpful comments about a film she's making. From there it was a week's bus trip to some of the odder, less touristy places on the east coast and on to Lake Tekapo in the mountainous middle region. A quirky and beautiful trip all in all and a fitting end to my time in New Zealand.

The next and final part of the adventure's in Samoa. Am there for a week and then it's back to blighty for various family birthdays. So look out for the last installment soon, probably from an airport lounge in L.A.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb