Queenstown to Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am now in Christchurch and have only two days of New Zealand- the best country I have ever been to left. The last entry was about Queenstown and since that entry I spent another eight days there, this is how that went.
The day after publishing the last entry I travelled to Milford Sound, Ray had done a trip that I didnt really want to do so we had a few more days apart, I travelled to Milford Sound on my own with one of the local bus companies, it took about 5 hours to get there but it was well worth it, we stopped of for the obligatory photos at the best places. When I arrived in Milford Sound part of the trip included a cruise up the Milford river towards the Tasman sea, the views here were amazing, some of the best I have seen and the photos again dont do it justice. The trip was well worth doing, on the way back our bus picked up a load of people whose bus had broken down, our bus then broke down 2 hours away from Queenstown, I managed to get onto another bus going past that fit about 10 people from our bus on, I still dont know if my original bus made it back to Queenstown. I had a couple more quiet nights in Queenstown before meeting back up with Ray.
Queenstown being the party capital of New Zealand we had a few more good nights out, there are two bars that all the backpackers go and the bouncers knew us in both as we had been on a night out with them and the DJ knew to put Detroit on as soon as we got into bar, I think this shows that we spent a little too long in Queenstown is some peoples eyes but not mine I bloody loved it. We also met up with a girl who we met in Australia who had given us a lift down the coast, there were a few other cool people but we missed our group from the first week. On our last day in Queenstown we got up at half eight and watched Liverpool romp past Inter and then watched England draw in the Cricket with NZ to put the score at 2-1 meaning England need to win the next game to level the series- this is irrellevant except for the fact that we are going to the final test tomorrow and are currently in the middle of making numerous banners and posters that we hope will get all over the tele.
After Christchurch we are going on to Fiji for two days of surfing and two days on the party island either side of a night in Nadi the capital due to flights.
This entry is not the best but I may not be able to get on the internet during the time in Fiji. After Fiji it will be abck to Australia for a couple of hours and then on Thailand.

I will as always keep you posted.

x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb