Second (and better) interview


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Now that I've warmed up my interview skills with one very bad interview, I'm ready for another round.

I'm back in Christchurch, so I suggest we meet at a coffee shop (I'd like to be in my element). I arrive early so I can order an Americano. At most places in New Zealand they cost the same as a regular coffee, so why anyone would bother that is beyond me.

It turns out that my interviewer has lived for several winters in Fernie! So, our 'interview' quickly decended into a rambling chat about our favorite chutes, memories, and accidents. It turns out she's friends with my 'ski reference', Kay Chesley. All things considered, I think it went pretty well. My biggest fear is that I'm COMPLETELY underqualified. The last two instructors they had were apparently Level 4, had multiple years of guiding experience, and would probably put my skiing ability to shame in about 30 seconds. Also, its mandatory that I get a transceiver (another 450$) and I think a pair of skins would be really handy (200$).

Despite the expenses, the job sounds like the most amazing thing in the world! Check out www.brokenriver.co.nz if you want to get a bit of an understanding of what the place is like. I don't want to get my hopes up by describing it yet, but my fingers are crossed and she told me that she'd let me know in one week's time.

Ironically, Mt. Hutt offered my a ski instructor's position. They're probably really short on people. I have one week to accept the offer, so I think I'll hold out until I here back from Broken River! (fingers crossed)

xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb