St. Patty's week


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For the first time, I spent an entire week in Christchurch. I ended up having a lot of fun that I wasn't expecting to have because the only reason for staying in town was to finish my paper that is due. But, I actually finished it early (might be the first time in my life!). After we got back from Mt. Cook, I took a relaxing stroll through the botanical gardens. Now I know why they call it the garden city. I actually got lost along the way! I also went to the Canterbury Museum and the Sunday Art Market. I had to force myself to not buy anything...no room left in the suitcase and already over my weight limit. Some friends and I took the Gondola up the mountain for some views of the city and to watch the sunset.

Kiwis take St. Patty's Day very seriously. We all went to a charity event at The Bog for a St. Patty's Day Practice Party on Friday night. On St. Patty's Day, it took me forever to get ready. People actually stopped us on the streets to tell us nice outfits. We had a little too much fun all day, so we decided to skip the rugby game at night....oops!

Today, we went to the Orana Wildlife Park. It was raining and cold, but we had already put in major effort to get there. We got to ride in a cage and watch the lions being fed. Crazy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Charity at The BogCharity at The Bog
Charity at The Bog

They finally had the outside part finished...now we just love it there even more!
St. Patty's Day Practice PartySt. Patty's Day Practice Party
St. Patty's Day Practice Party

Gotta love any country that celebrates Paddy's day over multiple days!!
Irish DancingIrish Dancing
Irish Dancing

Have no idea how to irish dance, but had fun doing it anyway
Lion FeedingLion Feeding
Lion Feeding

The lions would just jump on top of the cage and walk around above us. Crazy!


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb