Swimming with Dolphins... Riding Quad Bikes... My life is great!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 4th 2006
Published: December 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hellooo!

I am currently in Christchurch in New Zealand's South Island. Very strange because it is so like England, it's unreal! The old style English buildings, the cathedral located in Cathedral Square, the River Avon running through the city and the Botanic Gardens. It just can't get any more English. Cool though.

In the past week I have had a pretty good time... but Saturday was amazing! One of the best days of my life. But I will explain why, in a bit.

So I left the beautiful mud pools and the sulphur air of Rotorua on Wednesday and headed for the NZ's capital city....Wellington! But what a disappointment. I stepped off the coach and walked straight into gail force winds. I felt like I was going to be blown over... and that is no joke! The winds were the strongest I have ever experienced. I thought I would walk to my hostel, as it didn't seem far according to the map. And it wasn't far. Apart from the steep gradient I had to climb to reach the interesting hostel. I arrived swetty and exhausted after a 7 hour coach journey, and all I wanted to do was have a shower and go to bed. But this hostel I had arrived at was quite simply...Crap! It was an old converted victorian style house. And the rooms were the smallest I had ever seen... incorporating a bunk bed and a single bed. And the owners were two guys in their 20's... and they quite clearly didn't give a shit. Currently every hostel I have stayed in, they have supplied bedding or at least a sheet, free of charge. This place wanted me to pay about 15 pounds for bedding for the 2 nights. And everyone who stayed there seemed to be German. And I don't have a problem with Germans... but they just didn't seem to want to talk to anyone else other than fellow Germans. Nice.

However, the 2 nights passed quickly and I was soon leaving Wellington on the ferry to the South Island. Yes! (Oh btw, I saw the film 'BORAT'... brilliant! So funny. If you get a chance to see it, you wont be disappointed.)

Anyway, the ferry was a 3 and a half hour journey. And I had to check my bags in just like in a airport. Strange I thought. But
My ferry to the South Island.My ferry to the South Island.My ferry to the South Island.

An old P&O ferry. Pride of Cherbourg.
saved me carrying it around the ferry. And the funny thing was... the ferry was an old P&O ferry... the 'Pride of Cherbourg' (I could tell this, as they made a poor attempt at covering it up - as seen in the pic below) I have almost certainly been on that ferry before in one of many trips to France as a child. Weird.

The ferry arrived at Picton, and I got the coach to Kaikoura. The coach network really is very good here in New Zealand. I can book it the same day I leave, and they basically go everywhere (as there aren't many places in NZ I suppose.)

Once I had arrived in Kaikoura, I was picked up from the bus station by the owners of the hostel I was staying in for the next 2 nights. The hostel was by far the best hostel I have stayed in so far... and really doubt if anything will beat it. There was only about 12 people staying there. And the rooms had 3 beds in... and they were single beds....not bunk beds! Really nice kitchen and lounge area and the bathrooms were top-notch. But the owners really made the hostel! They were very enthusiastic and genuine. They got to know their guests, and even took us to the pub on Friday night! We got pretty drunk as the beers were costing only $8 a jug (3 pints for about 2pounds 50pence.) Bargain. And chatted football to a Scottishman... and politics to a English couple from Farnham. Brilliant night. And it was made even better when the pub landlords came out and put a load of free food out for everyone to help themselves to. (Apparently it is a common friday night thing). This food included; Battered Fish, Chips, Sausages and Bread. Was a great night.

And then on Saturday... I had one of the best days of my life.

Firstly in the morning I went dolphin swimming! And not with Dolphins in a swimming pool... but wild ones! They kitted us out in a full body wet suit. Then we had to watch a video about how to react with the dolphins etc. And basically, the dolphins in the sea are not interferred with at all by humans. They are completely wild and are not even fed by humans. So because of this fact, we weren't guaranteed to see any. And they aren't always swimming in the same place in the sea. We were then taken to the boat... there were about 12 of us on our boat... and we set off in search of the dolphins. It took 20 mins to find them. And it was a great sight! We were then allowed to go into the sea and swim with them.

We were not allowed to touch them, as they think of it as threatening behaviour. And we were told that we need to entertain them, in order for them to stick around. So we had to sing and make noices...as they respond to sound. And also we were encouraged to swim in circles and dive down.

And they were amazing! They came right up close to me, and then at the last moment would dive down in front of me and swim underneath. They would also brush past me. It was a truly memorable experience. There were loads of them as well. We were told later by the instructors that there were about 400 of them!!! We would be in the freezing cold water for about 15mins, before the dolphins swam on...so we would get back onto the boat, and taken to them again...and once again had another 15 mins in the water. this happened 4 times altogether. Then afterwards we were able to have hot showers on board the boat with biscuits and hot chocolate. We were then given about 45 mins to take photos of the dolphins and soak up the sun. The instructor said we were very lucky as it doesn't get any better than that! Sometimes they only see about 100 at a time... but to see 400 was the best you can get. And the dolphins would swim right up to the boat, not scared at all. they would flip and show off. They were true show-offs! The whole trip was about 4 hrs.

Then later that evening....

I went Quad-Biking! And this was not any ordinary Quad Biking. It was over 1600 acres of this land owned by one guy. The land consisted of very high hills and mountains... streams... the lot! And what made it better was that we had manual geared quad bikes. Which had 5 gears...and you could have full control of the power of the bikes. Rather than having an automatic. This was great, because the sun was shining....and was about to set... We stopped every 20 mins or so to admire the views and I got some great pics. This Quad-biking was bloody dangerous though! There were tracks going up the hills etc.. but one seconds worth of lack of concentration, you were down the side of the mountain and most likely...DEAD! We went up such steep hills that we had to use 1st gear.... We also went thought streams and got soaked... and covered in mud. It was brilliant! And that last about 3 and a half hours. So well worth the 35 pounds! I once reached a speed of 70 kilometres an hour as well! They were rapid! Oh... and we also stopped on a cliffs edge, and peared over the top and saw about 100 seals on the shore and also in the little pools below the cliffs...playing and swimming. Great sight!

So that was a great day.

Then on Sunday I left Kaikoura for Christchurch. Not alot to do here.... but it is like being in England. But warmer!! And it doesn't get dark till about 9pm here as it is summer. I went out for a few drinks last night with some girls in my room, and we stayed up late playing card games too.

NZ is a really beautiful country...

Weird how there is no real motorways here! There are only highways which just have one lane each way... and are empty! There is just no traffic anywhere. Suppose that's what happens when there is a population of only 4 million. Also, everyone here is so friendly. The other weird thing is, that the Queen is on the back of all the coins and the notes here...and in Fiji....and in Aus.... basically everywhere in the commonwealth. I didnt know that. It is strange how they have a woman who lives on the other side of the world on all their currency. There are also very english influences around. They even have trams here in Christchurch!

Well enjoy the pics (sorry if some turn out crap, this travel blog website shrinks them, and some aren't great once they are shrunk).

I head to the west of the south island on Wednesday...on the famous Tranzalpine train...through the mountains. So I cant wait! (Apparently it is in the 5 best train journeys in the world!)

Will write soon.

Missing you all.

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

One of our stops on our Quad Biking routeOne of our stops on our Quad Biking route
One of our stops on our Quad Biking route

This was an amazing view! Like my Quad Biking gear?
One of our stops on our Quad Biking routeOne of our stops on our Quad Biking route
One of our stops on our Quad Biking route

Me and some of the guys I went Quad-biking with from my hostel.
Quad BikingQuad Biking
Quad Biking

Some of the guys coming down a hill
Quad BikingQuad Biking
Quad Biking

Another great view!!
Haha!Haha!
Haha!

They have these all around NZ! "Thank you for placing your BUTT in the bin" ... it's for cigarette butts...


4th December 2006

Dolphins
You had a great time in Kaikura with the dolphins.When I was there there was a storm like you had in Wellington.I rode the trams in Christchurch as well.Enjoy the Transalpine train.
6th December 2006

Oh how I wish I was with you, swimming with dolphins, just way too cool, pics are great. Can I be 19 again?
8th December 2006

I remember a much younger dean saying he wanted to live in New Zealand when he was older. Sounds like it lived up to your expectations bro. Train journey sounds wiked. Speak soon mate.
17th December 2006

missing you.. x

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb