Keep on Trucking


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
January 12th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Akaroa to Abel Tasman

Through Christchurch, Picton and Nelson

Hi everyone,

It has been nice to hear how some of you spent the holidays and started your new years. Big changes are on the horizon for all of you, and I'm no exception.


This week is my last in the haven of Akaroa. It has been a wonderful experience to stay put long enough to get to know a place and its people. I'll miss being able to say hello to people on the street, coming home to hang out with Darin and Yuki and being able to walk barefoot to the grocery store. Most of all, I'll miss the beautiful harbour sunsets.


As I mentioned in my last entry, it was an absolute shock to realize that New Years marked the halfway point of my travels. It has really flown by and I can't believe that I have only 6 weeks left... It makes me want to pack my bags and get on the trail as soon as possible, as well as call up the airline and change my flight date. For now, I do the former while the latter idea is put on the shelf for now.


Tomorrow, I take the bus ride(s) back to Picton where Chippy is parked in Sequoia Lodge. From there, I'll drive west for about an hour to Nelson, where Caitlin herself flies into tonight (Thursday evening) and we start the hiking portion of our journeys next week.


First on the agenda is Abel Tasman National Park. It is a coastal walk that is rather easy going and perfect for the warm-up for many more strenuous treks. It is usually recommended that people kayak the track, but we will do both! We plan to hire a double kayak and paddle out to the northern trailhead in about 2-3 days. From there, we will put on our packs and hike back for a few days. Hopefully making use of the Department of Conservation's hut system or staying in our tents at the many sites along the way.


It is my hope after Abel Tasman that we re-visit the Golden Bay where I travelled alone for a week after Caitlin started work. The relaxed beauty and alternative culture of Takaka and Shambhala shouldn't be missed, especially if we are going to be passing so closely by again.


After that, we will move down the rugged West Coast and going on one of the best scenic drives in the world! Hopefully we'll hit up the Fox/Franz Joseph Glaciers, a few towns, Milford Sound, Queenstown, Wanaka, Dusky Trail, Doubtful Sound, Routeburn, Kepler, Otago Peninsula, the Catlans, Stewart Island, etc etc etc in the next few weeks.


As far as the idea of staying longer goes, my CCUSA agent Jenny just informed me that indeed I have a year long visa! Surprise, surprise! I'm not exactly sure how that happened but it's great news... I wonder what it's like to snowboard in New Zealand?



love
meesh



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

DarinDarin
Darin

yyuk yyuk!


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb