In Prep for my cycleing trip to New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 15th 2011
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

RexRexRex

Me new bike decket and rdy to go
Well where do i begain well at the start i guess. I came to NZ last year i started in feb 2010. Once i bit the bullet and quit my job stored away anything i wanted to keep (no dout you all will agree that the hardest thing just doing it) I hitchhiked for 7 months covering all the south island and most of the north but loved ever secend i was here. Hitching was easy and the people are just great.
I got home in nov 2010 and i wasnt happy i didnt get everwhere i wanted i missed Northland and arnt rdy to settle down. I read a huge number of books while i was away and read one that really hit home and got me thinking (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Man-Who-Cycled-World/dp/0593062337) Hitching was great but going more at ya own pace and not haveing to relie on other people would be better. So it Begain.
While i was working at my old job for 2 months over summer and hadnt cycled sence i was 10. I look into bikes and gear and lots of people didnt take me serisley sence i was 6"4 and 120kg but finly one place did. Hours
KitKitKit

All My kit set out and double checking i got it all
of reseach and talking with the bike dealer my choise was made, Surly long haul trucker. at a cost of $1600 brand new, it was a bit more then i wanted to pay but just what i wanted. i got 4 panniers and handerbag online from the Usa and with our strong aussie dollar they wernt a bad deal $400 the lot. The find on ebay was the best with front and rear racks costing $100 and thats for Tubas cargo and duo neally brad new. With all the spears and odds and ends it probley ended up at a cost of $2500 to be set up and ready to go. With a month to go i finnly got on the bike and start training. (Really how much can i do in a month) So after finshing work, and no longer needed for the summer period i head home to Portland for the last 2 weeks. The last 2 weeks went way to fast, betwine helping on the farm and helping me mate deck out his campa van from scrach ready for there trip around Aus. then Before i new it the 19 of march was here and on the plane with me Bike and gear. i Named him Rex.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb