What falls from the sky screaming


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
July 29th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(Photos from previous blog should now be up, please check them out)

Before I begin I think it's only fair to update you all on my experiments, after much deliberation I decided that I was due a shave and a wash of the hair. There were a number of reasons I reached this conclusion, firstly the women at customs had to look at me 3 or 4 times before she was convinced that I was the same person as my passport claimed I was. Also, although my hair washed itself after 6 weeks it then went greasy again and quite smelly, so I thought new continent, new start and cleaned myself up. I would however recomend the experience to anybody who has the time to try it.

So, what have we been up to, mainly cruising around in the van looking at some of NZs awesome scenery (they love the word awesome over here).

One of the main noteworthy events was our trip to Waitomo, where we were able to take a tour through a series of caves where glowworms hang from the ceiling making it look like a very stary night sky. Can't show you any photos
Young FoleyYoung FoleyYoung Foley

Cat said I looked about 14 after shaving and washing my hair
as we weren't allowed our camera in there.

We have also found an excellent way of saving a few pounds by parking the van by the edge of the road rather than paying for campsites, there really is little difference, the site of the road has the added bonus that you are never far from the toilet block. Another way we found was to let Cat do all the driving, for some reason her driving results in us getting more miles out a tank of petrol and less of our belonging fly around in the back, must be some kind of women magic or something...

Probably the most crazy thing we have done is jump out of an aeroplane at 15,000 feet without any planning at all, we just woke up and decided there and then we would do a skydive. It's hard to put into words the mix of emotions that falling out of a plane generates, although fear and excitement defintely featured highly. We have some very unflatering DVDs of us during the fall, mine is especially funny as for most of it there was snot coming out of my nose, nice.

Needless to say we both landed safely and are now contemplating tackling the Nevis bungy jump.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



28th July 2007

AAAA!!
Hi guys!! oh my god, im soooooo jealous, ive been and done all the things you're doing now and i wish i was back there sooooooo much!!! Love all your photos - keep them coming!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
29th July 2007

Fun Times
Hey guys, loving reading your blog - it feels like I really know you two. Keep it coming, and watch out for the sandflies as you head south.... Peace out.
30th July 2007

Is that Ben
Chris looks like youve morphed into 14 year old Ben !

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb