From winter to summer in 2 days


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
As Eli's expression describes perfectly, home was very relaxed. ha-sorry E.
Well, being home for 6 weeks was wonderful but crazy. I worked so much at Gusanoz that mom, dad and I had to 'schedule' nights to eat dinner together. But being back meant great Mexican food and mom's food every now and then. Spending time with my siblings was also special, although it would have been nice to see my grandparents.

Most of you know that I arrived back to NZ over a month ago, after an extended flight that kept me in Fiji for a day. I wish I could say Fiji was exciting, but after 36 hours of travel no one wants to hear the intercom in the airport announce your plane is broken...literally. pff

But arriving back in Hamilton and the move in to my old apartment was much smoother than back in July. By the first weekend I was off to Raglan for a reggae festival, a small 'surfing' town just 40 minutes west of Hamilton. Some friends and I camped for the weekend just above a beautiful beach and near the stage and outdoor shops where
'Geo' girls'Geo' girls'Geo' girls

My geography 'crew', minus Isa who you've met. Keri, Jo, me and Gail.
reggae played for almost 24 hours a day. Beach by day, outdoor music by night...not bad.

My classes began on the 26th of February and I am quite pleased. I am most excited about a class entitled 'Advanced Cartographic Theory and Practice' where I take a social issue of my choice and 'map' it. Sounds simple but the work is rather involved with breaking down 'traditional' maps...my product will look nothing like what you expect to see when you think of a 'map'. The point is to be able to creatively visualize social issues. It's a pretty new industry and my professor, Russell Kirkpatrick, is one of its leading geographers. There is a fairly new article about him and what he does if you want to check him out:
http://www.waikato.ac.nz/learning/success/dr_russell_kirkpatrick.shtml

In the mean time I have been catching up with my friends. I've been to my first cricket game, have seen some 'cultural' events and have recently visited my friend Keri's home in Whakatane, about 2 hours north-east from here on the coast. We went to a 'sports' event where we saw BMX comps and wakeboarding shows.

4 weeks into my studies I am
University University University

Cultural events on campus take place every now and then. These drummers were representing Japan...what could I do to represent the US? uhh, cheerleading?? hah
already swamped with school work but enjoying it. It's early fall here and still quite warm so I spend a lot of my time reading by the University swimming pool, just for when I get too hot. 😉

Hope it is warming for everyone who is back in the US.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Swimming in WhakataneSwimming in Whakatane
Swimming in Whakatane

Near Keri's house is a warf for swimming. Her husband Ryan was playing with some boys...jumping off in unison.
Morning beach in RaglanMorning beach in Raglan
Morning beach in Raglan

Some girl created this design on the beach early one morning of the festival.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb