Dinosaur House, Raetahi


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
November 28th 2019
Published: November 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I have a young grandson who is obsessed with dinosaurs. I have to admit that I don't share his passion but I certainly know a heck of a lot more about them now as he insists on trying to teach me everything he knows.

He was very excited to hear about Dinosaur House at Raetahi and we intended to take him there as it wasn't too long a drive to get there. But then a huge slip closed the main road from Wanganui to Raetahi. The journey now involves a long, slow, windy drive along the River Road. It is the sort of road that you hope you don't have to share with any logging trucks.

A couple of days ago, a friend suggested we do a road trip up to Raetahi. He had no idea about Dinosaur House and we couldn't take my grandson. I will write about places to visit along the way in another blog.

We arrived in Raetahi and I casually mentioned I really needed to check out Dinosaur House. My friend wasn't terribly enthusiastic but once we walked through the front door, we were both hooked. The affordable entrance fee was quickly paid and we had to work out where to start. There were dinosaurs everywhere! You can't help but be stunned, fascinated and speechless. And then you start going "Look at that!!!" and "Oh wow, a T-Rex! Did it just roar at me?"

They had a nice selection of gifts and souvenirs, all at an affordable price and yes, we came out with a t-shirt but managed to leave the toys and mugs and badges and......... until next time.

We will definitely have to get my grandson up there over the Christmas holidays. We will have to take it in turns to stay there with him as he will find things to talk about and movies to watch and will want to spend the entire day there. If you are passing through Raetahi, it really is worth visiting Dinosaur House, regardless of your age or how interested you are in dinosaurs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb