Day 79: Singin' in the Rain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Whitianga
February 16th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

OctopusOctopusOctopus

I'm in B5.

Today was a happy day, though it was cold and rainy all day and grew colder as the day went on. On the Beach is a pleasant place to stay. I like the whimsical paintings on the walls of the buildings: my own building, B, has an octopus pointing the way to the different apartments.

It felt just as though I were at Myrtle Beach, which was balm to my homesick heart. This sort of chilly weather is normal there in the winter, which is of course when I stay there. When I'm at Myrtle Beach, I always try to go for three walks by the ocean each day, so I did that today, though the second one required some willpower to take, as it was pouring buckets.

On the third walk, I found a memorial to a ship which had run aground in this bay in the 19th century. I did not have my camera with me but tomorrow I will walk back and take pictures.

As I was coming back from the third walk, I met one of the shuttle bus passengers from yesterday. She recognized me and asked if I needed anything from the store, as she was about to walk there. As it happened, I did need water, and I asked for it before remembering that it would be a heavy load for a walker. (I should have thought; goodness knows I've carried enough of it myself, most recently in Thames.)

She brought the bottle back, and, having nothing else appropriate to give her (for I felt that a tip would be rude; she was acting in friendship, not as my servant), I gave her a slip of paper with my e-address and the address of my Travelblog blog.
I hope she'll write to me; I don't even know her name.

The Canadians had a difficult day. They tried to go to Hot Water Beach as I had yesterday, but, aside from the rain, their group didn't get started until 11, past the optimal time for Hot Water Beach, and while they did get to do some digging there, by the time they were finished the tide was all wrong for going to Cathedral Cove. I was sorry for them. The delay wasn't their fault; they were ready by 9:15.

I'll be sorry when they leave tomorrow. I hope I can get along with my third set of housemates. At least it'll only be for one night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Buffalo BeachBuffalo Beach
Buffalo Beach

Across the street from the hostel


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb