i'm connected!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mt Taranaki close up!Mt Taranaki close up!Mt Taranaki close up!

Pretty isn't it?
Yay!!!! I have the net!

Hi!

Wow! Last night I cooked the best dinner I’ve ever cooked and no one was here to experience the delight of tasting except me! Ok, it wasn’t anything like Level 41 or Sojourn, but it was pretty good for me, who usually lives on old el paso mexican and stew frys. Anyway, try this one at home (weird I know, posting an ok recipe in my blog):

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1 red capsicum
2 button mushrooms
2 teaspoons olive oil (I used extra light stuff from spain)
½ small onion
1 clove garlic
1/3 can pureed tomatoes
A little bit of fresh parsley (I bought this cool stuff in a pot)
Italian herbs mix
100g minced beef
50g shredded chicken (I used already cooked stuff from the supermarket)
25g vintage cheese
pepper and salt to taste

method:

1. Cut the capsicum in half and get all the nasty bits out from inside. Drizzle 1 teaspoon of olive oil over both halves and whack it in the oven from 15 mins on 200 degrees.
2. Heat the other teaspoon of olive oil in a saucepan and add the chopped
WellingtonWellingtonWellington

This is a view from up the top of a hill on the Southern Walkway... I still hurt from that!
garlic and chopped onion. Cook for a little bit then add the beef mince and brown.
3. Add the chicken, the chopped mushrooms, the pureed tomatoes and all the herbs and cook until it’s all mixed up and hot. Pepper and salt to taste.
4. Take the capsicum out of the oven and divide the mix between the two halves. Eat any leftovers straight out of the saucepan. Crumble the vintage cheese over the filled halves and then pop under the grill until the cheese has melted. Yum!

So, yeah I know it’s been done before. But I made this version up with no help from a cookbook or my sister, so I’m proud. Tell me variations that I can try!!!

That was the highlight of my day yesterday… oh and talking to my lovely boyfriend. 😊

Also got to chat with my grandparents - happy birthday marnie!

Time to wash up now!

Keep it real,

Sarah




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Oriental BayOriental Bay
Oriental Bay

This is from the end of the Southern Walkway. Oriental Bay is in the foreground and Wellington city is behind.
boatsboats
boats

I like boats
dinnerdinner
dinner

yummier than it looks


11th July 2006

hi LIAR
YOU DID NOT TAKE THOSE PHOTOS YOU LIAR. all is good on the goldmark front except rebeccas ass got caught in the door and we had to chop it off. lots of love, ailin and bec
11th July 2006

hi
hey sorry i got pre occupied for a minute and didnt get to say hi. so hi!! i got your letter yesterday and i will write you one back soon. well i started writting one last nite but i havnt finished so i will sent it probably tomorrow. I hope you are well, take care and speak to you soon!!!!
12th July 2006

the recipe book
i will get a blank recipe book this friday and write it up - did you take the jamie book with you? you should try some things out of that (you can usually freeze the leftovers....also try www.deliaonline.com
12th July 2006

Love the pics!
Hey Sarah, I love the pics! It looks amazing! Dinner sounds nice but is there a vego option? love Simone
12th July 2006

So you have a blog? We all have problems
Hay! Ooops .... hey! Very beautiful pictures Sarah. When do you start listening to the "he said, she said"? FYI we got covered in a Saharan sandstorm last night with temperatures at 46ºC. today its down to 41ºC thank God!
13th July 2006

Variations
¿Qué onda, quey? ¿Qué pedo en NZ? Te voy a write en spanglish pa' que you don't forget. I casí turned off de'pues del first ingredient (¡guácala!), pero I read on y sounds rico - menos the capsicum, claro. Maybe puedes try using tomates (cut off the top, scoop the insides out y ponlo en el filling. Puedes close it con el top si quieres pero ese thing con en queso looks good) or cebollas (chop off the ends and take out each layer, try to keep them whole y llénalos, hold together con un palito si necesitas). La 'amá de Barry hace yummy stuffed vegetales así (y también yukky ones con capsicum, a'nque a ella tampoco le gusta). Anyway, ojalá que this es helpful in keeping you from starvation! By the way, me encantan las photos. Cuídate güerita. ¡Te extraño un chingo!

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb