Por ultima vez/ The last one


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 16th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Este va a ser mi ultimo blog en esta pagina web. La razon es bastante obvia, esta pagina web esta dedicada para gente que esta viajando y nosotros hemos parado de viajar (de momento).
Estamos en Nueva Zelanda, nuestro destino final y hogar hasta que nos cansemos de estar aqui.
La gente de esta pequenya capital es muy amable, haces una pregunta y te cuentan la historia de su vida, interesandose por la tuya tambien, es como un pueblo donde todo el mundo se conoce. Hay cosas bastante extranyas tambien, por ejemplo ayer cuando fuimos al pub a ver el futbol a las 4 de la madrugada, el gorila de la puerta me pidio el carnet, por que no se admite a gente menor de 25 anyos!!!!!! Para mi genial a ver si me entendeis en dos semanas cumplo los 30 pero por lo que se ve no los aparento en absoluto. Lo curioso tambien es que si eres menor de 30 en algunos supermercados no puedes comprar alcohol!!!! Bastante extranyo, a partir de ahora tendre que traer mi carnet o pasaporte cada vez que me apetece vino con la cena o para cocinar.

Otra cosa bastante curiosa en Wellington (no se si pasa en toda NZ) es que tienes que tener relaciones sociales si quieres tener una vida. No te esta permitido ser un ser solitario sin relaciones. Aque me refiero? El otro dia fuimos a la biblioteca municipal, para informarnos de los papeles que necesitamos para conseguir un carnet de biblioteca. Lo tipico, una factura con tu nombre o una carta del banco, un documento de identidad con foto (hasta ahi todo bien) y finalmente el nombre, direccion y telefono de una persona que te conozca en Nueva Zelanda y que no viva en tu domicilio (ja la hem cagat). Emm, perdona pero es que acabamos de llegar al pais y no conocemos a nadie. Lo siento, no hay carnet de biblioteca. No solo no hay carnet de biblioteca, pero tampoco podemos alquilar DVDs, porque necesitamos amigos.
Y mi duda existencial es, cuando tienes suficiente confianza con una persona como para pedirle su nombre completo, telefono y direccion postal, mas que nada porque esta noche me apetece ver la ultima de Tarantino?
A mi me pone incluso mas nerviosa, de hecho me he pillado de vez en cuando analizando si la persona con la que estaba hablando en el pub seria un candidato a "amigo".

Bueno esto es todo desde la ciudad de los vientos huracanados, a partir de ahora escribire en otra pagina web, ya os mandare un email.

This is going to be my last blog entry in this website, the main reason being that this is TRAVELblog and we are not travelling anymore (for de noo). We are now in New Zealand our new home until we get sick of it.
In Wellington people are being very nice to us, very friendly and interested in your life, they look at you weird when you tell them that you have chosen to migrate to their country, though.
There are many things strange and different in this country that has its winters in summer e.g. Yesterday when we arrived at the pub at 3 o'clock in the morning to see the 4 o'clock England match (the sacrifices that you have to make to follow the world cup, don't start me with bl***y Crouchy) the doorman stopped me and asked me for ID, as under 25's were not allowed in the pub. Oh well, I am most flattered that I don't look my real age, which is going to be the big 30 in a couple of weeks. Funnily enough under 30 you are not allowed to buy alcohol in some supermarkets. So on the 1st of July this year I will become of Age in New Zealand after having done so 12 years ago in Spain. YES!!! I feel Young again, I can go on the piss if a want, I'll be allowed to buy beer on the supermarket!!!Hooray!!!
Enough of that.
More curiosities about this interesting country. Library Cards. You may think I'm going crazy here but I am not this is a very interesting subject, I'll tell you why. Because you cannot have one if you don't have friends. Yes you read right, I, well, we need friends. In order to get a library card you need the typical bill with address, photo ID (fair enough) and here it comes: Name, address and telephone number of a person who resides in NZ and does not stay in your address. Hello but we just arrived, can we just forget that last bit? No, I don't think so, and to greater shock you need the same staff to join the video shop. So no books nor DVDs for us at least until we get a social life.
I have to admit that this subject is already affecting my normal like as I have discovered myself evaluating the suitability of different people that we've met down at the pub. Only problem is to ask them, excuse me, would you mind giving me your full name, address and telephone number? I just kind of fancy watching the latest Tarantino movie, you see?
Is like dating, how do you ask someone for their telephone number? Maybe we should put an ad in the newspaper. "Desperate couple needs friends and their personal details to join library and video shop, will share books"
And that's all folks, I send you an email when I sort a blog in another website.
Its been a pleasure







Advertisement



16th June 2006

Thanks for sharing Maria, have loved your observations! xxx
29th June 2006

Happy Bithday Maria
i'm sorry that we will miss it. I read Ade' blog and now yours and I did wonder how it would feel when you settle down,would it be the same old rut that we all fall into? i love Ade's idea about you both coming back again. AAh well i can only dream! luv mam xxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb