Homeward bound


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today, after crossing the street (with the light), I was handed a "lollie" by a city worker in a bright yellow rain jacket. Turns out the City of Wellington is rewarding mindful pedestrians with sugary sweets.

This sums up New Zealand culture to me. At times, it seems that they are trying to create a perfect society. Every third advertisement on the "tellie" is some government-sponsored preaching about not leaving cooking unattended, not speeding on corners, being cautious at intersections, checking the batteries in smoke detectors and not drinking too much. All worthy ideas, but I'm sick of getting it hammered into my head in graphic televised scenarios. They give my half a mind to chug eight beers, start cooking a steak, then go to the store to buy cigarettes for minors (and not get my breasts examined), then smoke a cigar while I speed through an intersection.

For these reasons, and the fact that I would rather spend a sunny summer in Seattle than a windy winter in Wellington, I have decided to head back to Seattle in a month.

Taking care of the elderly and buskin' have improved my outlook on humanity and myself. For this, I sincerely thank New Zealand. Who knows what adventures await me in post-Bush, post-Swineflu Apocalyptic Recession America? Stay tuned! I've got the travel bug now too, and the only cure will be another sessions overseas. Maybe China? Maybe India and Nepal (again)? Maybe Mongolia? Perhaps Bolivia? Indonesia?

I'll try for all of them.

Advertisement



30th April 2009

ahem
(we'll examine your breasts when you git here...)

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb