City Life; Part 10,000!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
March 5th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know it's been about three weeks since I was in Wellington but I thought I had better get up to speed with this blogging business.

I stayed in Wellington for a few days; it was indeed windy but not that different to coastal towns back home really. As cities go, Wellington is one of the nicest I have been to. Not too noisy and there are still things to do that aren't over crowded. It did rain quite a bit while I was there though so I didn't do too much. I walked around the Botanical Gardens which was nice if you like that sort of thing! I particularly liked the Peace Flame where you could just sit and watch a waterfall. I sat there for quite a while, but the Peace Flame was not lit so I think it must have been a non-peace day!

Saturday nights in Wellington are not that different to anywhere else in the world. Courtney Place was awful and absolutely rammed full of youngsters out drinking. Wellington is so quiet and respectable by day but by night all these awful crowds make their way into the city. I went to check out
Sitting by the Peace FlameSitting by the Peace FlameSitting by the Peace Flame

It might have been wet but this was a nice place to sit for a while.
the local music scene which was pretty good. The place was called the Valve I think! The first band were really good but then it descended into death metal which was not creating a cheerful night out so I left! I also had a mosey round a guitar shop which was nice as they are so cheap in NZ! Going to be tough to resist the urge to get myself a nice guitar here but I will probably look into the cost of shipping one home.... off topic!

So after leaving Wellington it was time to get the infamous ferry crossing to the South Island where I was going to spend my first three weeks working for my accommodation in Nelson whilst waiting for my tax number to come through. I got on the ferry with Anja from Germany. We had met in Taupo and loosely traveled together for a bit. The crossing was hilarious due the sign saying "moderate"conditions. If they were moderate I would hate to see rough! It was incredibly difficult to walk at all on the ferry due to it going up and down, side to side at regular intervals. In the end Anja and
Windy CrossingWindy CrossingWindy Crossing

Going from the North to South Islands
I found it amusing and decided to sit ourselves down with coffee and cake. Going through Marlborough Sounds was nice but the weather wasn't so good so the pictures I took were very dim, but it is also really nice to see clouds wrapping around mountains.

Anja and I parted company in Picton as I was heading to Nelson but we are sure to meet again in Christchurch.

So onward to Nelson........


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Music on a Saturday night in WellyMusic on a Saturday night in Welly
Music on a Saturday night in Welly

Good band, shame about the rest!
Marlborough SoundsMarlborough Sounds
Marlborough Sounds

Misty, windy and cold. Must be the ferry crossing!


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb