Adrenalin Country!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello there from New Zealand......

I can't believe I've been here 2 weeks already and only have 1 week left until I'm off to Fiji for some serious chilling out in the sun (or the tropical cyclone as it may be).

The last couple of weeks have been lots of fun and New Zealand is such a beautiful country but I can't help but feel I've seen it all before.......Its like being back at home. Hills, lakes etc......Anyway, I started in Christchurch which is like Stratford on Avon, the river is even called the river Avon! I spent a couple of days relaxing in the botanical gardens and walking around the markets etc.....After this I booked myself onto the Magic bus which is a travellers bus which takes you around the country. Its a really good way of meeting of people as most people do the same route and you keep getting on the same bus and staying the same hostels so I've met a really good group of people. Anyway, I caught the trans-alpine train across the country on to the west coast and went to Franz Josef where we did a glacier hike. It was so amazing, i felt like a true adventurer. We were climbing through ice caves and climbing up cravasses in the ice, shame my camera was on the blink so all of my photos were lost!! (Will get some soon off my friend).

After Franz Josef I went to Queenstown and this is where it all happens!! I spent 3 days there and have done horse riding, canyoning and a canyon swing! The first day I went canyoning which is basically jumping off cliffs into the water of the canyon, abseiling and zip wires. It was so much fun as you'll see from the pics and the outfits they make you wear are the sexiest things I think you'll agree!

The day after I went on a day trip to Milford Sounds which is a big Fjord in the mountains. Pretty spectacular but we were let down by the weather abit. It was really misty so the photo oppotunities weren't so great. It was a good day out though.....

My last day I went horse riding which was brilliant, my horse was so nice and the scenery was amazing, it was all through the mountains where Lord of the Rings was filmed and is pretty spectacular! We got to canter and stuff too which was good. Its really given me the horse riding bug again and will definitely try to take it up when I get home if I can ever afford it after this trip!! My last afternoon in Queenstown it was time to get the adrenalin going! I did the Canyon swing which as you'll see from the videos is pretty bloody scary. I did the jump twice as it was sooooo amazing once I'd got over the initial scariness adn the second time I went off strapped to a garden chair, quite normal behaviour I'm sure you'll agree!! Anyway, it was the best thing I've ever done, much scarier than the sky dive!! That night with the adrenalin still going we all went out for a few drinks to celebrate our last night in Queenstown, which again I have no photos of. I need to buy a new memory card apparently!!

Since Queenstown I've been to Dundedin which was pretty boring then on to Lake Tekapo which was beautiful but we only spent one night there then to Kaikora which had the best hostel ever!!! It was a brand new hostel which had a swimming pool, spa and sauna. I was in heaven and decided to spend a couple of days there just chilling by the pool and topping up the tan, the weather has been amazing!!

Anyway, Now I'm in the North Island in Wellington and have a week to travel up to Aukland before Fiji so thats about it for now. Hope you like the pics!!

Love to you all.....

Suz xxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Before the canyon swingBefore the canyon swing
Before the canyon swing

I actually was petrified at this point!!
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

English style architecture....


21st January 2008

Your gran calling
Hi Suzie, I sent a message on the last blog but it was returned, so I hope this reaches you, the photos are great, you look like you are having a great time, not long until April and British weather so make the most of the climates!!!!!.I am still at no 3 it is a very long job, solicitors do not rush. I do hope you are looking forward to some bread and good jam!!!!. much love to you Suzie. Gran xxxxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb