There's Never A Good Reason Not To Party


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A Latterman song title for Kim 😊

Biggest piece of news i have right now is that i am now the vocalist in an up and coming wellington metal band. Yep, you heard it here first folks. Band hasn't got a name yet, but we're talking really heavy screaming and yelling (with some singing thrown in too). No-one is more suprised than me, seriously, i saw the add and went for it. It's not something i would want to do for ever and not and not do anything else but its a lot of fun for the time being (hopefully i wont damage my voice quite so impressively as i did last night every time).
I have not yet bothered to get in contact with the cafe who said there might be some work for me. I figured I've been working full time since the day i finished my finals and i deserve a week or two off to relax and get to know the new country. Plus the rents so cheap where i am, i don't have to worry about getting a job straight away. I will do eventually, but not yet. On that subject there should be some work as a landscaper available when i want it (moving heavy things around in gardens and building paths and the like) its better paid $15 p/h and is outside, don't know if i'd wanna do it for a long time, but it might be good for a while.
I have temporarily mislaid my camera to computer cable so can't put up the photos of my house - as i'm still in the bunk room i'm pretty much living out my bag so things are difficult to track down.
I have no plans at all at the moment for anything - other than going to an anti-fascist demo on the south island at the beginning of october - so don't expect any more updates for a while.
One last thing. The kiwis are rubbish at dealing with the cold! Its really cold at the moment (not at all unusual for this time of year) but NONE OF THE HOUSES IN THIS COUNTRY HAVE INSULATION OR INTERNAL HEATING! So i'm sat in my kitchen with my house mates huddled around 2 heaters. Why???? This happens every year! Why is the country not set up to deal with it??? Bastards.
Saying that, i was in t-shirt and shorts on my first day in Aukland, now i can't find enough clothes.
That's all for the time-being, i'll put up some photos when i track down my little wire

Much love, Chris xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb