In the office


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
December 8th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I have now finished the volunteer project and am really sad about that. They were three fantastic months where I got to spend time with some amazing people. People that were dedicated to the environment and those that were just out here for the experience. I have become inspired about different things and I think as Roz said I would become somewhat of a tree hugger!
I am now working for the Global Volunteer Network in their offices here in Wellington. It is a complete change of pace and I desperately miss the work outdoors. Sitting in front of a computer all day is a bit of a culture change but I am sure I'll get used to it.
I'm afraid there may not be as many updates on here as I was adding before. I have to use my weekends now wisely as they are again precious now I am back in the working world. Hoping to head back to the Chocolate Fish this weekend but the weather has returned to Wellington classic. Meaning it is blowing a gale and the rain is hammering down. Maybe I'll drive up North abit and see if it is any better away from the tip of the North Island. Apparently Dan tells me it will be sunny in Taupo this weekend. That is a little further then I was planning on heading.

Last night I saw the new Bond movie! Not sure about it. Daniel Craig is definately fit though! Perhaps not as smooth as Bond should be. Went to see it at the Embassay Theatre. This was the cinema that they did up for the premieres of the Lord of the Rings and it is quite the experience. A glorious old world feel with really plush seats. Unfortunately the guy next to me was not the most fragrant so that kind of spoiled the experience. The toilets though were the nicest cinema toilets I have ever visited.


Came out a bit late and missed the last bus so had to find a taxi. All was going well until somethng fell off a building I was under and smacked me on the nose. It was so painful and now I have a bruise, not too impressive but my face is killing. The blooming wind in this city is something else!

Anyway I will keep you up to date on anything happening here. Hoping to headto the South Island next weekend so I'll have some photoies to share then.

Happy holidays to all.

Karen

Advertisement



8th December 2006

ooo that bruise sounds painful...you unlucky chucky! Daniel craig is fit as though....just think the story wasnt the best....glad u got home ok... And Chocolate fish is a plan! And yes...sitting in front of computers does suck...sucky sucksville. Especially when you cant get on Messenger! See you tomorrow! Jen xxx
13th December 2006

Good luck with the new job!
Doesn't falling masonry in New Zealand fall upwards, seeing as you're on the bottom of the world? :) Good luck with the new job!! Love Alan

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb