A wait in Waitomo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
April 25th 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The down side of taking buses, is that you are dictated by their times, and now being out of peak season, there is only one bus out of Waitomo everyday….at 6pm! So this leaves me the whole day to kill. I go for a run in the stunning morning sunshine, and then enjoy a leisurely shower before checking out at 10am. After this I sit on the outside terrace of the café section of hostel, using the internet, before it starts to rain. The rain continues all day, getting very heavy at times, so I am camped out if the café, sorting my photos and working on job applications until 5.30pm. As I am sitting in the café area all day, I decide to order lunch there, and enjoy a chicken wrap which comes with curly fries….yummy!

Finally 6pm rolls round and there are a few of us standing in the rain waiting for the bus which is 20mins late. Always the way, they are very prompt usually, but because I want to get out and its raining, this time it’s delayed. But before I know it, around 9pm, I am back in Hamilton where I am staying tonight. Hamilton is a lesser known city. It’s not polished like many of the more popular cities and it’s nice to experience a real working class New Zealand city. It’s a 20min walk to the hostel, which is very quiet, and settle in, having some salad and catching up on my blog before sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb