black water


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
November 14th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The day began on a bus. We stopped the bus about 2 hours into the ride to see the location where lord of the rings was filmed. There we got a guided tour of the farm and the events that took place during the filming. Though I haven’t seen the movies it was still interesting to know that I was there….maybe perhaps I’ll watch them now. After the movie set we ate lunch, and quickly had to leave. Our black water rafting adventure began with putting on a freezing wet suit, and very fun boots. Once we were all geared up we jumped onto a van. We made a quick stop at to get everyone a floaty. Once we were geared up and had our floaty we practiced jumping off the wooden ledge, because in the caves were two water falls we had to jump off of. I stood there toes against the edge with the floaty against my ass, and knew that the water I was about to face was going to be icy. Well I made it through the practice session alright, and so did everyone else. After which we walked towards the caves. In there was about 2 hours, there was times when we had to lie complete flat because the edge of the cave was so close. There was a lot of hand paddling involved, and finding a buddy in the darkness. Through out the caves were glow warms ( or glowing shit) but still cool. After my adventure I couldn’t feel my toes, and I left with a battle wound on my left hand from one of the rocks. We got out of the water and they had prepared tomato soup with bagels for us….ok at that point tomato soup had never tasted better….so yum. It was my birthday that night so even though everyone was dead tired, we all went out. I received lots of birthday cards, chocolate, a morrocan key chain, a teddy bear, and drinks. All my friends sang happy birthday in all their languages and I recorded it. Overall it was a great 21st!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.386s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb