Tangoriro crossing - oct 24


Advertisement
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We woke up bright and early and headed to National Park at 6:45 Am. We got our gear on and hiked the Tongariro crossing. Well, I only did part of it. I started with the group, but I fell behind partially because I kept stopping to take photos, but also because I may have been quite a bit out of shape. So I decided to go on my own. I got the phone # of the guide. And he told me to promptly meet everyone back at the bus at 5pm. He stated that if I don’t show up at 5pm and if I don’t call him to let him know where I am, he’ll contact the police. He also stated that I should start turning back at 2pm to give myself enough time. So I started on my own taking in the gorgeous views of three snowcapped mountains -one of which was “Mount Doom” from Lord of the Rings, got to the southern Crater for a good view of the valley below, at some of my lunch. Before I knew it, it was 2pm. And as instructed I headed back to the bus. At about 4:40 I saw the sign for the trail to the bus and I had started to follow it but I didn’t seem to be getting anywhere and so I took out my phone to call the guide but the phone flipped out of my hand and into the bushes. I searched for about 2 or 3 minutes before I realized that I wasn’t going to find my phone. Earlier that day, my glasses had broke (my guide accidently stepped on them when I foolishly placed them on the floor). So that made it a bit harder. Eventually I found 3 guys from Pennsylvania who had helped my find my way back to the group. Apparently I was on the wrong trail - but 3 three guys noticed my group by our bright orange rain jackets. Once I caught up with the group the guide had said to me “I’m not sure what happened, but all I saw was you get out of the bush with three guys”, needless to say - that became the story and joke of the day. This was my last trip with this Stray bus and so I got a ride back to Taupo. The next day would start my next leg of my adventure - Napier Prison!



Advertisement



20th November 2009

So you lost your phone again ?
20th November 2009

yup..and only after having it for a few days!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb