Climbing Mount Doom (well almost)


Advertisement
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The day of the climb arrived and I was up bight and early (if not breezy) to attempt the immpossible in my mind. However, I cheerily joined the others and we set off for the beginning on a beautiful warm and sunny morning. After the horror stories I had been told in regard to people being stranded / frozen on the mountain in inapropriate clothing; I had put so many layers on that I began to resembled the mitchelin man of my former years.
The sun was blinding but I could still make out the formidable shape of Mount Ngauruhoe standing tall and onerous above me. I tried not to think of the 18K hike in front of me and wandered off enjoying the scenery as I went. I soon began to sweat profusely and peeled off sodden layers of clothes hoping that this would also somehow miraculously lighten the load for the task of climbing the Devil's Staircase in front of me. I was warned that this part thoroughly deserves it's name as it's a good 45 minutes slog to get up into the first crater. With my heart beating in my throat and my face turning a deeper shade of crimson by the minute, I finally scrabbled to the top where I promptly collaspsed to begin my lunch. How on earth those poor hobbits found the strength to climb it I'll never know, must be those wide hairy feet!! And whats more I didn't even climb the volcano peak but merely skirked round the edge.
The others caught up and we began the further (if a little less steep) ascent to view the turquoise sulfhur lakes below. At the top we were rewarded with stunning views of the Tongariro National Park and it is prefectly clear why Peter Jackson chose this stop for Mordor, just the rugged beauty leaves you breathless. We stopped by the lakes for lunch and watched as the mist came down over the mountain and slowly crept towards us, edging over the craters one by one.
We carried on walking and managed to stay in front of the mist. At the last hut we were just in time to see the helicopter airlifting in supplies. Alas though to getting a lift, I just had to carry on on my rather sore throbbing feet.
We dropped into the bush for the last few K's and by the time I arrived at the finished I was filled with glowing pride of my achievement and sheer relief that it was at last over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb