To jump or not to jump?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
July 13th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

.........

i think that cloud looks at bit like a tree
today thursday 13th July 2006 me............Ian Stephen Fowles, jumped 12000 feet for a moving plane and lived to tell the tale............heres my story (And for all you people who dont or cant read, i have the DVD of it just wait until im back)


the morning started off like any other, me waking up after being asleep for the night. although somehow this day felt different, i felt very very scared. This may have been because the day before me and Lucy had booked to do a sky dive this day, but then again it could have been anything really.

we got ready and had to phone the company to see if we would still be able to jump today due to the weather had kept changing. luck was shining on us (If you could call it luck) and we were able to do the jump. we would get picked up out side at 11:40 am

the limo slowly pulled around the corner (yes they pick you up in a limo) andme and Lucy climbed inside. Inside sat a man, we didnt know him. His name was Dave. And as the quick ones of you may have
???

is it a bird? is it a plane? on no its only Ian
guessed he was also doing a jump that day.


we drove on heading towards the airport, having to sign a form to sign our life away. its amazing how just writing your name quickly and then the company doesnt have to worry that much if you die.

we pulled up outside the airport and clambered out of the car. entering the small building we decided to choose which jump and which package we wanted. I chose a jump from 12000 feet, a video of the jump, pictures and a t shirt all for just less then 100 pounds....deal of the day....

We then were sent over to meet the guys we would be falling with. Mine was called Ollie (the man in the picture with me) he helped me get into my dashing suit and harness and then talked me over what would happen. Once everyone was ready we went over to the tiny plane, and me being the great guy i am hit my head on the wing before stepping into the plane...

we had to sit between our guys legs so that when the time came we could climb up onto their knees and lap.

and then off we went.......

the plane slowly climbed higher and higher and all that stopped you falling out was a thin plastic door. It got colder and colder and just before we got to my hight i noticed i could see my breath. But before i knew it we were at 12000 feet and i hadto get ready to jump


Lucky for me the guy (Dave remember) was nearer to the door so he would jump first. they opened the door and he shuffled over to it. Suddenly they were gone.....and i knew it was my turn

I slowly moved over to the door and put my legs over the edge.
When we were on the floor they told us we had to put our feet together and put our knees under the plane just before we jumped, also to put our head back on their shoulder. I didnt think i had done any of this when suddenly the floor was rushing up to meet me and i was


f
a
l
l
i
n
g

Ollie tapped me on the arm and that meant i could open my arms up. All this time i was falling and looking around at the beautiful hills and mountains, even though nothing was getting into my mind becuase all my mind was doing was this ...."ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!" etc

a short while later i felt ollie tap me again which meant hold on because im going to open the parachute....Hopefully...

There was a small jerk back and we slowed down and slowly diffted downwards. i was able to look around and take things in slightly more now but my brain hadn't recovered from melting because of the jump.

The ground got closer and closer until i was told to put my legs up and we slid along the floor until we stopped.

So there you have to Ladels and Jellyspoons, A strange and quite rushed telling of the day i jumped 12000 feet from a plane and lived to see another day.

Well then.........bye







Advertisement



18th July 2006

congrates on the jump, i thought u wouldnt do something like that...pussy! lol . hope ur having fun i certainly am ;)
19th July 2006

jesus
Ur fucking crazy!
20th July 2006

Fantastic !
Hi Ian, well done, fantastic experience for you I bet ! Sounds like your having an amazing time, go for it ! The time will go so quickly, and your be back to sunny s.o.s. Enjoy every moment, take care, love Lucys mum x
20th July 2006

Fair play!
Cant believe you and my sis have just chucked yourselves out of a plane!.....the only thing id be chucking is a few carrots and dinner from the night before!! You are both a right pair of extreme sport activists now. Glad you are having a excellent time, look after each other laters my friend
24th July 2006

Cunniligus
Nice one dude, u got crazay bad ass jumpin skillz. How was it between the legs of a man with such an awesome name? Feel good huh? Yeah I bet it did you gay
24th July 2006

amazing.....
fantastic what they can do with chromakey innit? LOL!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb