Living the life


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today started out again kind of rough, I knew I had to make a decision on whether or not to take the RA job and only have 3 days at home, or stay for about a week and then go up.

As of now, I have declined the position.

I talked to Brittany and Laura again online, and while it was nice to talk to them, I just didn't want to stop. And lesson #3 for those keeping count, don't tell a homesick person that they need to come home right now, they agree with you, and there's nothing they can do about it.

So after that conversation, I set out into the city of Rotorua for some shopping, and then had a very American afternoon to help satisfy my pangs of homesickness: A McDonalds lunch (first time I've been there (ex. for ice cream..)) and then a starbucks coffee (which cost almost as much as my lunch- seriously, only 1$ cheaper..)

And with that, I grabbed my bags, headed to the bus station and took my one hour ride to my next destination: Lake Taupo.

The ride was a melancholy one, still feeling a bit down, and the landscape that resembled the Black Hills wasn't helping. (Ok, so these hills are volcanic and smoking with hot water, but they look very similar otherwise..) The steep cliffs are dotted with Dairy cattle and sheep, and I'm starting to see why this country is known for it's sheep.

So I headed to my new night's stay, where the best part of my day happened. The place is run by an older couple, and she regrettfully informed me that the dorms are too expensive to heat, so because it's the off season, they've just put me in a regular hotel room.

Yep that's right, a king sized bed, my own bathroom, a balcony, a fridge, and hell, even a kitchen sink. As we speak, the wine is chilling.
(I had to buy that, but really, it was necessary after this lovely night.)

So I picked up some wine, ravioli and sauce, and hummas and pita.. and I'm ready for my night of elegance. hehe.

They apologized that the tv in the room was small too, and directed me to a large lounge where the TV was bigger. I assured them I was spoilt enough already.

Tomorrow I might go kayaking or horse back riding, or go for a hike or something. But believe me, it's quite tempting to just stay here and watch tv whilst sipping fine wine....

(ok so it was $8 for the bottle- but I'm sure I won't be able to tell the difference...)

From homesickness to, I'm never leaving this place...

cheers- K



Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb