Freefall!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before..Before..Before..

With my guy Dale
I jumped out of a plane today!! 15,000ft (2.84 miles!) I still can't believe I've done it - I've even got the t-shirt, photos and a not-so-flattering DVD which I'll probably post home for anyone's perusal!

We got picked up at 11am this morning in a limousine! Then taken to the airfield where we got suited and booted before having to hang around for about 1.5 hrs before we finally got in the plane - just keeping the suspense up! There was a girl who was jumping with us who was physically shaking with fear..but she soon had to get over it.. We took the plane initially to 12,000ft where half the guys jumped out and that's when it really hit me..they just disappeared! After the doors closed we headed up to 15,000ft where it was to be our turn...

James went first and he just disappeared like all the rest..then I had to dangle there with my legs hanging out the plane for a few seconds and then the guy I was strapped to just let go and then we fell..fast! approx 120 mph... I had 3 things to remember - head back, feet up and when I
Before..Before..Before..

Me and James..excited or terrified?? both??
felt the tap on my shoulder, then put my arms out - however the last one never really happened as I think I was too shocked (and cold!), so he was tapping me and I was holding onto my straps for dear life!! We fell from about 5000ft above the clouds, but it was when we hit the clouds that you could really gauge how fast we were going.

60 seconds later (though it only felt like 10 or so), the chute opened and my ears suddenly hurt a lot..but I didn't care because we were hanging there in mid-air and the view was amazing. They say that on a clear day you can see both shores of NZ..it's all on video! And then it was all over as I lifted up my legs and skidded onto to terra firma on my arse..

I would do it again in a heart beat..


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ParachuteParachute
Parachute

You can't really see me, but it is me..honest!
We lived to tell the tale..We lived to tell the tale..
We lived to tell the tale..

..and would definitely do it again!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb