Lately I'm a desperate believer but walking in a straight line


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post


Dolphin action

Kaikoura at sunset
Wow, where to begin? I may not have time for everything, since I only have 20 minutes left and Internet here is really expensive ($7.50 an hour?!?)

I finished out my time in Christchurch relaxing over the long Easter weekend reading in the nearby Hagley park North. It has a large open field that I can sit and enjoy my book while eavesdropping on the Doppler effected conversations of passers-by. The gentle gradient blue of the sky spying on me from above, striped with puffy grey bottom clouds that gently threaten rain like a mum trying to get her toddler to finish his asparagus by lording his future dessert over his obstinate head. The wind whispers, sometimes being so bold as to yell before remembering it's manners and quieting down again to avoid creating a scene. The tress lining the park have been tagged by Autumn, but are still in the denial stage, straining to hold onto their green leaves while shedding the yellow and red away the way a 35 year old man plucks the first signs of gray hair in front of a bathroom mirror. I could see the distant wispy brush strokes underlying the clouds over the mountains where there had been an apparent mutiny and the water molecules joined forces to escape the floating prison. Meanwhile, the birds would flit about over the field in search of tea (being a kiwi term for dinner, not the drink) marking out a square speckled white with feathers before gliding to another square downwind to clean that patch like CSI agents searching for clues after a homicide.

I missed my bus and had to stay in Christchurch an extra day. Que sera sera. I caught the next one and headed up to Kaikoura, which was amazing! I went swimming with dolphins. And I don't mean like I saw three or four underwater, I mean in, above, below, around (and many other prepositional phrases to describe relative position) about 300-400 dolphins. They travel in these huge pods and are so playful and fun. They come right up to you and play. They also do this majestic acrobatic displays of backflips and jumps. The city was beautiful as well, lending itself to some great scenic walks.

I then did Wellington for a couple of days. Not much there, just walking around the botanical gardens seeing thousands of flowers, a huge rose garden, and trees from all over New Zealand. I then met some people and we cooked a nice steak dinner with mashed potatoes, beans, fresh salad, and cookies for dessert.

I am now in Taupo. I did a skydive yesterday from 15,000 feet. Yes, 15,000. They gave us oxygen on baord. That high. It was incredible. Not scary at all (which kinda disappointed me). It felt more like just floating rather than falling. No butterflies. Maybe I'm just too much of an adrenaline junkie that I've developed a tolerance. Who knows. But I splurged and bought a DVD and picture CD of the fall. It was so amazing. Taupo is a lake that is the largest volcanic lake in the world, or something crazy. The scenery is meant to be some of the best in the world for skydiving. We had a perfect clear day and when you first leave the plane you are so high you can see the whole North Island, both coasts.

I'm now travelling with a guy named Duncan who plays the didgeridoo. It is really sweet. The walls shake with vibrations when he plays so its not just sound, but feeling as well and you get when he jams.

We leave on Tuesday. Tomorrow I think we're fixin to do the Tangeraro crossing (Mt. Doom for you Lord of the Ring fans...) and see where they did a lot of filming and whatnot. After that, we're on the road again.

Well, I have more I want to say and tell you and describe in more vivid detail (like seeing the ground race at you at terminal velocity) but I'm out of time.

I love you and miss you all.

I hope to find a place in a few towns that is cheaper so I can settle in for a nice long time and get some personal emails out. But know that I'm thinking of you as I write this.

Take care.

Still alive,
Dan


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb